#GardenHive - All the Early Blooms!


Garden5.jpg

Inspired in part by the Hive community, I began reclaiming lawn space, building raised boxes, and blogging about my adventures in gardening. This might be year #5 of the ever-growing garden that officially launches this weekend every year.

There is a new curation engine in play named @GardenHive for us Hive green thumbs and I think you should check out the intro post here @gardenhive/gardenhive-introduction-hive-garden-community-curation-account Thanks to @skylinebuds for creating the curation account and @simplymike for introducing me to it.

In this update, I have a collection of blooms from an early summer Canadian garden. Less words per photo than your usual Zeke post! iPhone Hack Photographer Master!


image.png


IMG_1465.jpg

I have to start with my punk rock daisies growing right in the middle of the lawn. Wasn't sure what they were 'til they all popped.


image.png


IMG_1398.jpg

I learned (after 10 years watering this thing) that this is a Peony!


image.png


IMG_1538.jpg

This was a perennial I planted last year and it popped up again this year. I know what it is called because the tag was still in the ground and it read https://www.gardenia.net/plant/coreopsis-jethro-tull-tickseed Aqualung!

image.png


IMG_1537.jpg

I kinda think annuals are cheating but here are some petunias for a splash of colour. Wins me WifePoints© 2018 and reminds me of home.


image.png


IMG_1536.jpg

In this photo, we have a symphony of roses, hydrangeas, petunias, begonias, and a hosta throwing a pod into the ring. Neat little corner beside the hot tub.


IMG_1553.jpg

Here is the same space in late afternoon sun.


image.png


IMG_1541.jpg

I love these lilies. They grow wild in some fields in the region and have manager to hang onto a couple corners of my yard. They green out and cover so much ground early, then they explode into bold blooms late June/early July.


image.png


IMG_1543.jpg

You know it is Bloomapalooza when even the grass jumps into the fray. I will have to figure out the exact species of this grass I planted a few years ago but here are some exotic blooms boldly standing in the front yard.


image.png


IMG_1549.jpg

Quite a few of the blooms, I have no idea what they are or whether the are weeds (NATIVE PLANTS!) or not. These are one of them. Sometimes, you snap a shot on an iPhone that makes you love photography.

image.png


IMG_1539.jpg

Pitcher Plant?

image.png


IMG_1535.jpg

Bunnies' Ears?

image.png


IMG_1534.jpg

What I really enjoy is the vegetable blooms. These are cherry tomato blooms on a plant which is already 3 feet tall. This may end up being our first edible tomato.


image.png


IMG_1533.jpg

These little buds will soon become green Italian squash (AKA zucchini) The stuff I grow for my girls.


image.png


IMG_1542.jpg

I can't have a flower update, or any kind of garden update for that matter, without a shot of my @lynds lupins Only a couple years in, they are growing plenty of green and shooting up larger flower.....cones? Lots of fuzzy seed pods I will make sure and collect for other places in the garden.


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Then, blog about it using #gardenjournal and the new #gardenhive tags as we network and curate the journals of other green thumbs, outdoor enthusiasts and fresh whole foodies.


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

What do you grow?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency