Garden Hive Update - Critters and Veggies!


Garden5.jpg

Inspired in part by the Hive community, I began reclaiming lawn space, building raised boxes, and blogging about my adventures in gardening. This might be year #5 of the ever-growing garden that officially launches this weekend every year.

You may have heard of the curation engine in play named @GardenHive for us Hive green thumbs and I think you should check out the intro post here @gardenhive/gardenhive-introduction-hive-garden-community-curation-account if you haven't yet. Join Hive gardeners like @skylinebuds for creating the @simplymike for introducing me to it.

This week, I am joining my buddy @jerrytsuseer in checking out how the veggies are growing and discovering some neat critters!


image.png


IMG_1630.jpg

This is the pano shot from the last update 2 long travel-filled weeks ago. Is it summer after all! Good news it was blasting our back then and there have been regular rainfalls since then so this hasn't seen the hose in at least a month!

I will leave the before and after shot 'til the end and blaze through the progress shots in between.


image.png


IMG_1619.jpg

I have to start out with a bloom for the flower lovers but will get more into the mid summer blooms the next update. I do love my lilies as they are photogenic, vibrant and I enjoy seeing them grow wild in the countryside as they do in my yard.

image.png

The Peppers!


IMG_1705.jpg

My Jalapeno Gigante plant is proving to produce as advertised! I am pulling a 5 inch monster off this plant every day and they are a nice dark green with a moderately spicy taste for a Jalapeno.


IMG_1704.jpg

The Hungarian Wax Banana Peppers are also going nuts. Being so excited about my other varieties of pepper, I have all but collected and ignored these. Last night, I roasted one on the BBQ and topped a burger with it and MAN these are tasty! I will have to roast more and try them on other stuff as they are spicier than I thought they would be.

IMG_1837.jpg

I have been spying dozens of chili peppers as they grow but are still green. I bet they taste just fine but I like to wait 'til they turn red before harvesting and processing them. something about a red hot sauce that makes it right.

Here, my first chili is starting to turn red! Excitement as I have a bumper crop of these this year.


IMG_1698.jpg

This is a Moruga Scorpion pepper which is supposed to be twice as hot as a ghost pepper for a little perspective. I am scared of ghost peppers so this one and its little sister are making me nervous. I owe a couple of them to the local food center as the gardener would like to take a shot at growing them from seed next season.

IMG_1836.jpg

I am probably most excited about my Habaneros! They were a little slow in developing and have teased me a month and a half by only sprouting flowers. I find Habaneros the best pepper when it comes to a balance of heat and flavour. Definitely hot by not violently so, and the taste is fantastic. Seeing this many when most are destined to be in this year's hot sauce is fantastic!

The Ghost Peppers and Carolina Reaper plants are getting huge, popping a couple flowers, but not producing peppers yet. Can't wait!


IMG_1842.jpg

Last but definitely not least, my sweet green and red pepper plants are a couple feet high and producing a good number of peppers. We have already eaten the first couple and it is great to see more growing nicely for salads and pizzas.

image.png

The 'Maters


IMG_1831.jpg

You will see in the pano at the end that the tomatoes are warring it out in the original raised box. I think we may have thinned out the lower leaves a little too late and it is possible a week away has produced too many suckers to keep up with but we still have tomatoes! These ones are Early Girls and are a bit behind the clock but coming along nicely.


IMG_1832.jpg

The Cherry Tomato vines are over 6 feet tall and show no sign of slowing. They are woven in and out of the lattice I build from last year's bamboo grass and have little juicy snacks from green to red all throughout. We have picked a couple bowls of these and they have gone into salads and were even eaten as a snack on a road trip.


IMG_1834.jpg

There are also a nice amount of Roma Tomatoes coming along nicely. These are usually frozen and jarred and made into pasta sauce but I enjoy them as sandwich toppings as well.

image.png

The Rest


IMG_1835.jpg

The zucchinis are a new addition this year and are doing quite well producing Yellow Italian Squash every few days. The leaves are monstrous and I keep having to chop them off for fear they will rob the rest of the garden of space and sunshine.

IMG_1845.jpg

We have a couple sugar snap pea vines growing modestly in a shadier spot. Struggling a little but starting to produce some peas!

IMG_1833.jpg

The long green beans have climbed up out of the garden and have begun their journey along the top of the fence. There have only been a handful of actual beans so far but, if last year is any indication, we will be swimming in these in a few weeks. The best surprise of last year was how well these pickled/fermented! I am going to do this again this year with some hot peppers in the jar for a little more zing!

IMG_1839.jpg

Also new this year is Swiss Char. It is a vibrant addition to our greens raised box and seems to be growing unchecked. I am not sure what to use this in and apparently my ladies don't either as it is due for a harvesting.

Swiss Char recipes?


IMG_1840.jpg

The strawberries are still flourishing and apparently are ready for their third round of berries. Such a nice thing to have a patch of strawberries and even better to have them produce berries in waves like this.
<center
IMG_1844.jpg


Last but not least are my lowly pickles and cucumbers. I will have to try a new strategy/location for these next year as they are either being snacked on by critters or the aggressively growing neighbour plants are choking them out. There is no choice for me to grow these well as what kinda Pickleman would I be without pickles!?!


image.png

The Critters!


IMG_1830.jpg

Apparently, when you let things grow a little and take off for a week, the rabbits move in! We see rabbits all the time but are around enough and have enough chicken wire around the greens that they are not a problem. Give them a little peace and they find a way.

This is a little bunny nest right in the middle of the carrots, lettuce and strawberries for a convenient and balanced diet. I dug around to see if any of them were still left and discovered one last little bunny. It was small enough to catch in a butterfly net and I forgot to be mad at it for invading my garden because it was so cute. I parked it in among my @lynds lupins to escape in its own time and hopefully be scared enough not to get back in with the carrots again.


IMG_1817.jpg

Checking out the butterfly garden, it has been mostly bees and fireflies so far this year. Then, I discovered this little guy! It looks like a moth but flies like a hummingbird so I done exactly know what it is! Either way, I love his big antennae and that funky long tongue he is using to drink from each of the flowers.

IMG_1805.jpg

Here is another strange one! I think it is a moth caterpillar of some sort but sporting some really vibrant decorations. Almost looks like something out of a Disney movie and was fascinating to observe.

image.png

Then and Now


IMG_1630.jpg
IMG_1846.jpg

There is your back to back shot showing the difference a couple weeks makes. Tomatoes haver gone nuts, beans have grown up onto the fence, greens are filling in and flourishing, and veggies are starting to grow. My horseradish plant is also a monster and I should research how to harvest and process that as well.

Never a dull moment.


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Then, blog about it using #gardenjournal and the new #gardenhive tags as we network and curate the journals of other green thumbs, outdoor enthusiasts and fresh whole foodies.

If I can grow, you can grow.


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

How is YOUR garden growing?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency