#forkshare - Giving away free money to awesome people

If you think about it, we’ve all benefited from this fork. Like all forks where a new coin is made, we win by getting both coins. That is something that I hopes makes us feel full of abundance rather than hungry for more.

I am figuring this whole abundance thing out myself, but I know that if I just try to just power down all my steem and power it all up as Hive, that isn’t a true abundance mentality. This whole experience is a gift and having the two coins instead of one is a gift and I want to share that gift with others.

I am not a whale, I’m barely a dolphin, but I’m poised quite well to become more powerful at this platform. I’ve received a lot of support from initiatives like @tribesteemup and @ocd and I plan on investing more time and energy into this platform and continuing to grow. I know there must be some users who deserve to be where I’m at now and are not. I know there must be some users who don’t expect anything and put a lot in and don’t even think about what they get in return.

So I’ve decided to casually give away a portion of my steem to users who are undervalued. I haven’t decided just how much to give away yet but it will be at least 30%. I will be dropping 20-100 hive gifts on users smaller than myself, at least half of which I am not friends with, all of which deserve it.

How much I give away depends on how much I can get for it on the markets after powering down. I have 5000 steem left and plan on powering down 4000 of it for now. Just holding on to a bit to play with. So I’ll be giving away at least 1500 steem for its price in hive after selling it. Let’s hope it remains worth something. I can’t say exactly when I’ll be doing this because I want to try and get a good rate.

I know this isn’t really much of a contest, it’s just an idea I had. So take it as that.

I don’t want anyone to expect anything or to try and coerce me by whatever means to give you anything. I will not be giving gifts to anyone I feel is kissing my ass. I plan on making a large list of users who I will watch and engage with in the coming weeks and months and I will be dropping them gifts when I feel they fit the following qualifications

  • they are not expecting a gift
  • they are getting involved in the community and engage with others
  • they seem as if they will stick around
  • they post great blogs or art
  • they make less than $1 on most of their posts, with the exception of an occasional curated post.
  • they’ve been posting fairly regularly for at least a month.
  • someone who was nominated or someone who nominated, not someone who nominated themselves.

So please let me know of users you think fit this description. I will add them to my list if I think they might. Feel free to recommend new users too because I will be dropping this hive on people slowly after I've seen what they are about.

Let me be really direct here. I feel a little weird announcing this. I do not like saying “Look at the nice thing I am doing“. I thought about doing this without saying anything, but then I thought there is a very good reason for me to share this and say “Look at what I’m doing” besides perhaps all of you realizing that I am a cool dude:

I really want to encourage other people, especially larger accounts to do the same. I would especially love it if some whales and larger accounts would donate some of their old steem earnings to users who bring a lot to the community and have less than they do.

I won’t judge anyone for holding on to their steem and turning it into hive. Everyone has their own situation. It is hard to understand what others are going through, especially in this time. Even a whale has their own struggles that I am not necessarily aware of. This is not something anyone HAS to do.

But I hope that you do!

And I hope that you don’t make it overly self important where you give scraps to create the image of generosity, and I hope that you give to people who are truly deserving.

Let’s create an atmosphere of abundance here! We decide what kind of culture we have here, and now is a new beginning. Imagine a community full of people who see abundance and want to share with others and grow together. Imagine if half of our users get in a habit of just randomly sending money and other support as gifts. Just image what our retention rate will be then. Just imagine how easily we will be able to onboard new users. Not only can they make money doing things they love, the community is also giving and supportive.

I don’t know how much I can push ya in that direction but I have to try. I love this place and want us to come out of the fork stronger than ever.

If you like the idea of giving away a large portion of your steem earnings to others rather than keeping it all for yourself, or if you’ve been moved by someone’s act of kindness since the hive fork use the tag #forkshare so I can see it and feel like I’ve done my my part in getting us off to a good start.

Note: please don’t share physical forks when you are eating right now 🙃 not a good time for that.

Love,
Pineapple / I+Everything

292F34DEEAC84D9CA189970FC1ACAD06.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency