Dulse Seaweed for Health My Experience foodphotography

If you are vegan or vegetarian and want to get umami taste, you will love dulse seaweed. But you do not need to be avoiding animal products to enjoy eating dulse.

Dulse my experience food photography bxlphabet.jpg

What is umami taste? It is the savory flavor you get from meat, fish, mushrooms, and some fermented foods. I’ve been vegetarian for most of my life and I seem to crave this flavor. Dulse is an easy way to get it.

Even though I grew up right near the ocean, we never had seaweed unless it was in sushi. I eat vegetarian sushi called California Rolls when I can and I love them, but that cannot be a daily thing due to the cost and having to travel to get them. Dulse keeps forever in the kitchen – or at least as long as it takes me to eat it, which is not very long.

The reason I’m so happy to have this package of dulse delivered to my door from Amazon is because this is the whole leaves. I don’t know if leaves is the right word for it, but you get the picture. This package contains large pieces of dulse.

I also have dulse flakes, which are finely cut into little squares, and I have a shaker version of dulse with tiny granules.

Both of those sit on my kitchen counter and I sprinkle them on just about anything. Even though they smell a bit like the sea if you sniff the big amount in the containers, once you get dulse on your food, it just adds a mild salty taste.

I have not had the whole dulse leaves for a while now. This package is only 2 ounces and it goes quickly once I start using it.

I guess there are many ways to cook this, but the only way I use whole dulse is by quickly frying it up in a bit of coconut oil. I get a bunch of dulse pieces out of the bag and flatten them. Then I put them in a frying pan with a little bit of hot oil and turn them once. They take about two minutes to cook.

I can use fried dulse as if it was bacon on any place I want a salty flavor such as soup, salad, or eggs. If I am hungry and in the right mood, I can just eat all of the dulse I just cooked up without adding it to anything. It is so delicious.

I really like using dulse on my food. Like all the other foods I’m talking about in this list of healthy products I got from my Amazon haul below, I feel good after eating and not heavy or tired. I feel energy from my meals now instead of sick and bloated like it used to be when I did not eat healthy. My healthy meals make more of a difference than I ever would have imagined before I started eating this way.

The start of this idea to post about my Amazon haul
Nutritional Yeast Flakes
Hemp Oil and Hemp Seeds
Raw Cacao
Magnesium Oil

My post is for today's #foodphotography @photocontest by @juliank.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency