A little memory from childhood

img_5644.jpg

This is a childhood stable. I remember it was .5 rmb 30 years ago (10cents CAD ) I could eat it for every breakfast or as an after school snack. The fragrance from the sizzling pressed green onions, Chinese long donut and the fermented red paste was irresistible. The funniest part was we kids ate it secretly because we were told constantly that the street venders are not hygienic, avoid street food at all times lol. Today I made it at home in Canada with the closest ingredients I could find here.

img_5646.jpg

img_5645.jpg

When I was making it so much memories from childhood played through my mind. Friends I haven’t seen for all these years, I would not even recognize them even if they were in front me… i wonder what kind of pressure are they facing everyday now…if they also get psoriasis when stressed like me…life use to be so free, without a worry in the world. We can play till it’s dark outside, no cell phone no text messages, didn’t even know what hand sanitizer was… I thought about my grandpa, he use to make this dish for us so we would be content and not secretly buying street food. I got mad at him once because he was on my cousin’s side when we had a fight… then I avoided him for the longest time… he would always sit at the corner of the street on the cement steps, I would take a longer rout so I could miss him on the way home…till I don’t even remember when. Then he got sick really really sick… and I miss him so much now I wish I wasn’t being so childish then. I wish I could tell that silly young girl one day you wont see the people you love anymore…even if you pass by the same cement steps at the same corner of the street, the person might not be there anymore…
Looking at girls enjoyed the special treat so much. They make me smile 😊 I saw the satisfied faces just like their mom 25, 30 years ago.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency