Baking my Son's Favorite BLUEBERRY CAKE. YUMMY!!!

How was your Saturday, my dear friends?
We had very beautiful summery weather today here in Surrey, so I just had to take the advantage of enjoying the sun and the gorgeous nature since it looks like this might be one of the last if not last warmest days this fall, but I hope not.

My body was not feeling very good today, but I still had to enjoy the sun and at least go for a slow, relaxing walk. I don't know what it is but for the last few days, my knees just feel so weak and so does my whole body. Just been feeling tired for the last two days, plus I think I slept wrong since my neck was also hurting all day, and then out of a sudden my wrist started to hurt and I have what could have caused the pain and it is getting worse and worse.

After enjoying our awesome walk which I will share our walk in my next post, I decided to bake my son's favorite cake, which is a Blueberry Cake.

20210925_184545.jpg

This cake is actually pretty easy and fast to make, plus it has our favorite fruit; Blueberries.

You can use fresh or frozen blueberries, but I used frozen blueberries since I couldn't find fresh blueberries for the last few days in the store. Just make sure to rinse the frozen blueberries and drain them, so that there is no ice on them or that they are not too wet.

INGREDIENTS:
1/4 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk
2 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries, rinsed

20210925_161334.jpg

20210925_161326.jpg

20210925_161318.jpg

INGREDIENTS FOR TOPPING
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
13 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

PREPARATION
In a bowl add 1/4 cup butter (room temperature) along with 3/4 cup sugar and cream it. Add egg and beat it well.

Into a separate bowl sift together 2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt.
Add sifted dry ingredients to the butter mixture alternately with 1/2 cup milk.
Beat until smooth.
Fold in Blueberries.
Pour into a greased 9-inch X 13-inch baking pan.

I actually did not mix the berries with the cake mixture, but instead I applied the blueberries on top of it.

TOPPING
Combine topping ingredients and blend well to form crumbs.
Sprinkle topping crumbs over batter.

Bake for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.

20210925_184457.jpg

20210925_174741.jpg

20210925_174724.jpg

Enjoy.

I must say that the cake is so much better the next day, when the blueberries get the cake more moist and juicy.

Hope you guys will give it a try and let me know what you think. This cake is not a very sweet cake, so if you like you can add a bit more sugar. Plus, like I said when the cake is still warm it is not as sweet as the next day when the blueberries soak into the cake.

Love @joalvarez.


I am a great supporter of @familyprotection who is working very hard to help the families stay together and this project is the most amazing project that I would suggest for everyone in this hive community to check it out and support it and by doing it we are helping people in need who are trying to keep their kids safe from being taken away (kidnapped) by the Social Services. Here is the link Click here


Thank you for visiting my post. If you like it, please don't forget to Upvote, Follow, and Rehive, it is very, very appreciated. Any suggestions are always very welcome so that I can keep improving in this community.
God Bless!


DQmduqqaBDC8BYQQLUETr4F8VSBi6WfypSNoW6YY2vDCo4f.jpg



Image created by my beautiful friend @sunnylife

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency