I tried to make my own Salted Egg using Salt Brine Method


Salted eggs were part of Filipino food culture throughout the years. As years had passes by, it increases also the demand and different recipe had been created using salted eggs. One of the most popular of it was Bibingka. Without the salted eggs on top of it this food, it will never be complete.

Anyways, I chose the salt brine method which I think is perfect for small batches without having a messy hands compared to the old method of making salted eggs. They put generous amount of salt on a clay soil and they put all the eggs in there for months. I don't see any problem for those methods but since it was my first time, it is much better to do the simplest and quickest.

Chose your preferred eggs, you can use duck eggs, organic egg or just your store brought chicken eggs.

Things needed:

6 pcs of fresh chicken eggs
1/3 cup salt
2 cups water
Plastic container with lid

Instruction:

1.Wash eggs and remove all dirt from the shell but be careful not to break it. Set aside.

IMG_20210821_093620.jpg

2.Get the plastic container and put water. Then add salt and stir until salt dissolves.

IMG_20210821_093516.jpg

IMG_20210821_093459.jpg

3.Then add the eggs one by one. Be careful while doing this or else the eggs will break.

4.Once you've put all the eggs, cover with lid.

IMG_20210821_093441.jpg

IMG_20210821_093419.jpg

5.Make sure to put a date on it so you'll know when it can be consume. I put a tape and write the date like this.

This is how it looks like after more than a week. The water looks shallow but the eggs don't look rotten so I guess I did it right. I'll be back once the final day comes. Thanks for dropping by and keep safe:)

IMG_20210902_162527.jpg

To be continued....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency