Mr Kipling Cherry Bakewells

Morning PeakD,

I can’t tell you how much I love Cherry Bakewells. I have had a few different brands, but overall I think these are the best. Read on to find out why I love them so much.

mr_kipling_6_cherry_bakewells_7327_T5.jpg

Mr Kipling Cherry Bakewells

”Pastry cases with a layer of plum and raspberry jam and almond flavoured sponge, topped with fondant icing and half a glacé cherry."

The classic British tart. The Cherry Bakewell. The bakewells have a lovely pastry case that is crumbly and buttery. It’s also sweet but you can also taste the pinch of salt in it, which I love. The filling is a soft frangipane that has a layer of plum and raspberry jam. The jam is sweet and fruity. I think there is just enough jam in the tart along with the frangipane filling. You definitely wouldn’t want any less. I think I could handle a bit more. I love the fondant icing on top with the half a glacé. I like the way you can see your teeth marks in it. Overall the flavour is quite sweet which is why I like the salty taste in the pastry. I think you need that with all the sugar and sweetness in this tart. I’ve had other brands before as I said and I find their pastry is far too crumbly or it has a weird taste or both. Sometimes the filling doesn’t taste that nice either. Mr Kipling is known for their cakes, and I can see why.

These are definitely a classic British treat. Something that is really lovely to sit and enjoy with a proper British cup of tea. These don’t last long in my household when I get going. I can easily finish a whole box! I just love them so much. What I do to slow myself down is pop the tart out of the foil case, nibble round the crimped edges, then nibble round the pastry sides, pick the cheery off the top and eat it, then i eat what’s left in two halves. It’s the only way do be done. When I was little, I used to pick the cherry off and give it to my dad as I didn’t like them one bit. Now I love the cherry on top. These tarts go down far too easily.

Muchos Smokey Chilli Chicken
Muchos Cool Sour Cream & Onion
Muchos Nacho Cheese

Maple and Pecan Matchmakers
Cool Mint Matchmakers
Zingy Orange Matchmakers
Gingerbread Matchmakers
Salted Caramel Matchmakers

Mcvities Jaffa Cakes Orange & Cranberry Flavour

Godiva Hazelnut Oyster with Belgian Milk Chocolate
Godiva Caramel Lion with Belgian Milk Chocolate
Guylian Belgian Chocolate Seashells

Tesco Granola Squares
Tesco Maple & Pecan Plait
Tesco Bramley Apple Turnovers
Tesco Strawberry Jam & Cream Scones

Original Twix
White Chocolate Twix
Salted Caramel Twix

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency