Buxton Original Lemon Meringue Ice Cream Sorbet 440Ml

Hi PeakD,

This is quite an unusual review from me. My Husband had bought this yesterday and when he showed it to me I was thinking ’What the hell is this?’ Turns out it’s a pale ale. I saw the flavour of it and I said I would have a few sips to see what it is all about.

IDShot_540x540.jpg

Buxton Original Lemon Meringue Ice Cream Sorbet 440Ml

"Original Lemon Meringue Ice Cream Sorbet
Visit our bars and brewery in the heart of the Peak District Natural Park
A refreshingly sweet and tart lemony ice cream pale ale from The Original ice cream series, by Buxton x Omnipollo."

My Husband said to close my eyes before he put this can in my hand. I didn’t know what it was at first because the decoration wasn’t printed on like any other can of drink. It was textured. It felt like a layer of sand was added to the can. On first impression I didn’t know what it was. I spun the can round to see and there it was. A lemon meringue ice cream sorbet drink. Well I old never have guessed it was a pale ale until my husband told me. I thought it was a fancy cocktail. My husband poured the drink into a glass. It was a pale / medium shade of yellow. A little bit like 'frothy wee’ if you ask me. It didn’t look that appetising at all. Anyway, I took a sip. It didn’t taste anything like lemon meringue sorbet at all. All I got was a bit of sweetness with a bitterness and some weird taste at the back of my throat. I couldn’t say what the flavour was at all. Later on I had another couple of sips. Then it hit me. This tasted like a watered down, bitter '5 Alive’ shandy. For those of you who don’t know what 5 Alive is, it’s an old mixed fruit juice that used to come in a carton back in the 80’s and 90’s. I don’t know if it still exists today. I didn’t like this at all. Then I’m not a pale ale drinker.

No way on Earth would I say this was lemon meringue ice cream sorbet flavoured. Whether I drink pale ale or not. I don’t think anyone would be able to identify the flavour in a taste test. Plus the fact, the print on the front looks like a poo with legs! I’m guessing it’s supposed to be a swirl of meringue or ice cream. Seriously, those people in the design department need to think again. You can’t tell what the product is just from looking at the packaging alone. It doesn’t even describe itself well on the can and there is no nutritional info. I hope my Husband doesn’t buy this again. Mind you, he might have liked it. Then again, he’s not a super taster like me.

The Protein Works Protein Cookies - Triple Chocolate Trouble
Cadbury Mini Rolls Milk Chocolate

Sweet and Savoury No.1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency