Taste of planet event in Novi Sad, Serbia - Today's country: Korea

Novi Sad is currently hosting an event called Taste of planet that started on October 15th and ends on 23rd. Each day one country is preparing and presenting their own traditional food that is served for the visitor so they can try it. There is also additional program, depending on the country, so people can get to know their culture a little bit better.

It's a great way to get familiar with other countries this way (I mean, who doesn't like prepared and served food, right?) especially countries that are far away and maybe a lot of us won't get a chance to visit or just to enjoy a free, outdoor event that can almost make you feel that you are in another country with the music, food and the atmosphere - again, great thing now that traveling has been a little bit more limited and complicated.

1.jpg


Today's country: Korea

Since I started listening to K-pop in May last year, I became very interested in Korean culture as well. So of course, I didn't wanted to miss the opportunity to try some Korean food for the first time, made by Koreans themselves.


Event started with a few words from the Korean ambassador in Serbia while the food was in the making.


Since K-pop is getting so popular all over the world, and I'm happy to say in Serbia as well, there was a performance by the Frisky Dance Crew from Belgrade, Serbia. They performed dance covers of three K-pop songs and I have to say they were amazing! Their energy, outfits and dancing - everything was on point!


After the K-pop performance, it was time for food tasting! This is how we got the food served and me and my friend sat down at the big stairs nearby, same as many other people, to enjoy Korean specialties. We got to try gimbap, noodles and what I think is bulgogi together with a small dessert and tea. I really liked everything and I would definitely love to get a chance to have this food again.


After a little break, the program continued with taekwondo, a Korean martial art, presented by the members of Taekwondo club Olimp from Novi Sad. Since we won two Olympic medals in this sport this year and more in the past, I think Taekwondo will become more popular in Serbia. I really enjoyed watching them and I always admire the flexibility and strength of people who do martial arts. There is also a dose of discipline and respect that I think is very unique to it.


Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed this post! I am planning to go back tomorrow - can you guess which country is going to be? :D


banner.png

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency