A Satisfying Breakfast

Unlike last week, I ate breakfast at a much more breakfasty (that's a word, right?) time of day and felt like showing the process to the HIVE. Before I get to that, though, here's a picture of my fortified coffee from yesterday. That post didn't happen then, and I basically did the same thing again today.

The Mother Thing bought this canister of Orgain plant-based protein powder by mistake, but since it had no dairy, I decided I'd pay her for it so she didn't need to go to the bother of returning it. It mixes well with coffee, and I don't mind the taste. Your mileage may vary, but give it a try if you're looking for this kind of product.

Coffee Time.jpg

The coffee itself is roasted by H&H Coffee Company from Rathdrum, Idaho. This particular Royal Roast is a not as dark as I usually like, but it has a good flavor nonetheless. If you're passing through the region, see if you can find it. I bought this bag at a Super 1 grocery store. I know, using a drip machine is sacrilege nowadays, but the bag was pre-ground a bit too fine for French press.

As for the breakfast itself, I started like a fancy TV chef by getting my ingredients prepared up front.


Ingedients.jpg

Top left: two breakfast sausage links, sliced
Top right: frozen diced green bell peppers
Bottom: diced potatoes

Eggs.jpg

Four henfruit. Farm eggs warrant care. Crack each separately into a small bowl before combining.


I suppose now is a good time to warn that there will be few actual measurements besides "two sausages" and "four eggs." Sorry! "That looks about right" is as good as it gets sometimes.


Brown the sausage

Sausage.jpg

Add taters & peppers

Peppers and taters.jpg

Add the eggs

Added eggs.jpg

Scramble it all

Scramble.jpg


White balance leave something to be desired. Oh,well. I may not be the best food photographer, but the end result was satisfying nonetheless. Along with fortified coffee and half of the scrambled eggs, I also had some cheap bacon, two slices of Dave's Killer Bread with butter alternative, and Nancy's Oatmilk yogurt.

Served.jpg

That oatmilk yogurt is a surprisingly good substitute for the dairy-based real thing. Food texture is very important, and most milk alternatives don't measure up very well. Oats seem to have the creaminess factor most others lack. Oat ice cream also has the creaminess lacking in rice, soy, almond, and cashew based products which emphasize the "ice" aspect of "ice cream" too much.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency