Herbs and Veggies for Dinner and Lunch

IMG_0533.JPG

Germinating My Lunch and Dinner Grovid 21 Post

Last year, I found myself hit hard by the Self Quarantine and Pandemic Restrictions...so, I quickly got on board Growing My Own Food. Mind you, for years I have been growing vegetables, but, 2020 was my first time growing from seed!

This year, I am growing even more from seed, and have learned to space out plantings so I get a continuous harvest of fresh foods! Above, my dark opal Purple Basil. wonderful flavor, and makes for an awesome presentation when garnishing dishes. And what's dinner without a little flare?

IMG_0537.JPG

Some Greek Oregano above, germinating nicely, so far. Below, Sweet Basil. About every two to three weeks, I will plant another round of Sweet Basil. We cook with it a lot, as well as make pesto and freeze it in large batches. At some point, even with cutting, basil simply goes to seed. So, staggered plantings, similar to this below, are the name of my Basil Game!

IMG_0536.JPG

IMG_0541.JPG

Red Beard Bunching Onion, in the image above, germinated a couple of days ago, maybe 5 days after seeds hit the pots. Chives followed a day later.

IMG_0539.JPG

Above, Tomato tray! So far, the MiGardener Sweetie Cherry, White Cherry, Burpee Sweeties, MiGardener Black Tula Man, and the Black Sea Man have germinated. Waiting only the Beefsteak, and the Roma Tomato.

I will have an update on the 6 or 7 varieties of Peppers coming out soon! (Spoiler alert: Doing AWESOME)

What's left, you ask? 3 kinds of Lettuces, 2 Spinaches, 2 kinds of Cucumber, 3 kinds of peas, 2 kinds of Zucchini, Spaghetti Squash, and 3 kinds of carrot. I am not counting flowers I will plant.

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Grovid 2021!!!

For those not following the past year or so, Grovid originally came from @dreemsteem.
She challenged us all, during the year's Pandemic news,
to talk less about Codiv19 and More about Grovid20!
To talk sustainability and gardening and growing for the future!

#SaveLiveEventsNow

2020... a wild and woolly year, if ever there was one. My entire industry (Special Events) was shut down on 13 March and hasn't been back yet. Personally, I am ok, but so many of my colleagues and friends are struggling with bills, paying for food and rent, medical and health insurance. I am hearing from clients, probably no work until about 4th quarter 2021.


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.



Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.





community.pngsupportbuzz.pngMinnow.pngchristmas2018.pngbirthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png

posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.pngpostallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngreplies.pngupvotes.png
upvotes.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency