Happy St. Patrick's Grovid 21

IMG_0513.JPG

A St. Patrick's Day Grovid 21 Post

There's nothing like a good stereotype, to take advantage of... and with that said, I give you: My Potato Planting for 2021!

Unfortunately, I was LATE in taking pictures and missed the image with the 3 Yukon Gold potato I planted. Above are the 4 Red Bliss and 4 of the Purple Potato that I chitted. For those not familiar, that means, I started to grow roots and sprouts, from the Eye of the potato.

IMG_0515.JPG



Above, I planted the four Red Bliss, and 3 Purple Potato in one 25 gallon Grow Bag.

Grow bags are soft, cloth/synthetic breathable weaved bags, that allow air and moisture to penetrate. The ones I used for potato (and will for Onion) are 25 gallon capacity. I plant in a mix of 1/3 Peat, 1/3 Compost, and 1/3 Soil. My soil is a mix of new soil from bag, and old soil from my last years' containers! To this, I add 1 cup of Espoma Fertilizer for Vegetables 3-4-4, meaning 3% Nitrogen, 4% phosphates, and 4 $ calcium. I also add one cup Worm Castings, also from Espoma.

For Potato, as in the image above, I put in 4-6 inches of this mix in my 25 gallon Grow Bag, put down the seed potato, then add 6 inches of the soil mix on top. ONCE the potato greenery gets a couple inches, I add another 4-6 inches over top, to within an inch of the top of grow bag.I will add some more worm castings at this point.

IMG_0514.JPG

Above, is the 25 gallon Grow Bag with the Yukon Gold, and 2 Purple Potato already buried. note, no greenery, so, I will wait to "Hill it off!" Whether it was obscene luck or just plain Karma, I got about 100 pounds of potato, from my growing experiment. Happy to give it a shot again.

Tonight, after dinner, I will plant Red Spanish Onion and Sweet White Onion seed inside on the growlight shelves. Once they are established, I will move transplant outside to similar sized 25 Gallon Grow Bags.

Here's a snapshot of the type of plants I am starting from seed. Still haven't decided how many of each, but, when I do, I will break it down for you. For now, count on about 6 started of each tomato type, 6 of each pepper. Carrots directly seed start outdoors, so I will fill grow bags with them, later, probably End of April. The lettuce? I will probably rotate, as I do each year... with some seeds starting soon and grown for cutting, indoors, until it is warm enough to plant outdoors, too. Cukes, Zucchini, I will start indoors March 15th. The peas, will probably go outdoors directly mid April.

image.png

To date, 4 varieties of pepper, 6 kinds of tomato planted. Chives planted. Red Beard Bunching Onion planted. 2 kinds of Oregano (Greek and Italian), 2 kinds of basil: Sweet, and Purple. More to come, soon... from the list above.

For those of you following my Grovid 21 posts, the BIGGEST challenge for me this year: I am moving. We're prepping our current house for sale. AND, we're looking for a new house to buy. We're moving Full time to the shore: Cape Cod, Here I come! So, I am gardening in grow bags so that the entire garden is portable when it comes time for moving!


Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Grovid 2021!!!

For those not following the past year or so, Grovid originally came from @dreemsteem.
She challenged us all, during the year's Pandemic news,
to talk less about Codiv19 and More about Grovid20!
To talk sustainability and gardening and growing for the future!

#SaveLiveEventsNow

2020... a wild and woolly year, if ever there was one. My entire industry (Special Events) was shut down on 13 March and hasn't been back yet. Personally, I am ok, but so many of my colleagues and friends are struggling with bills, paying for food and rent, medical and health insurance. I am hearing from clients, probably no work until about 4th quarter 2021.


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.



Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.
Story first published by me, on On Uptrennd




community.pngsupportbuzz.pngMinnow.pngchristmas2018.pngbirthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png

posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.pngpostallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngreplies.pngupvotes.png
upvotes.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency