Grovid21 Going Outside

IMG_0657.JPG

Grovid 21 Going OUTSIDE Soon?

So close! The end of winter is so close. No more late night freezes, and waking to a light frost! Some day, REAL SOON, we'll see true spring. For me, May 1st will be the day I will mark as my spring growing season. It is close enough to the average annual last frost date. AND, with a look at the 10 day forecast, looks like the next nights are not going to drop below 50 degrees F, (10C) so, it is time to start hardening off plants for moving outside.

As you can see from the Cover Image, I have set up the bags, so that there is a Garden Fencing Arch trellis between... for Tomato to grow over!

IMG_0656.JPG

Part of the 'MOVING plants outside' process, is preparing for WHERE they will go. For me, since we may be moving some time over the next 3 months, I am making my garden portable. I have prepared a dozen 7 gallon Grow Bags, with an initial soil of:

• One Third Peat Moss
• One Third Natural Black Earth Compost (Leaves, Food Waste, Ground Wood Chips, Lobster Shells, Clamshell, Oyster shell, crab shell, Algae and Seaweed)
• One Third Topsoil or garden soil (that also includes some from my last year's containers)
I toss a handful or Worm Tea in each, and a handful of Bonemeal in each bag, and mix.

Over the next two days, I will make up another 16 Grow Bags at 7 gallon. After that, I need to make sure I have enough soil/compost to fill in when I add the Transplant Tomato, Peppers, etc.

That will make a total of 24 Grow Bags at 7 Gallon. I'll also add soil and get ready two more 25 gallon large Grow Bags (for a 5 bag total at that size) for Carrot. I have 16 total 5 gallon Grow Bags I need to get ready, as well.

IMG_0658.JPG
In addition, I need to Hill Up my potato. The pic is old, the greens are even more robust now. Yukon Gold, Purple Potato and Red Bliss.

IMG_0659.JPG

The Sugar Daddy peas, Snow Peas, and Snap Dragon Peas are all doing great!


IMG_7834.JPG

In total, 5 at 25 gallon, 16 at 5 gallon and 24 at 7 gallon.

To be transplanted are a dozen or more Tomato Varieties, 9 types of pepper plant varieties, 2 kinds of Cucumber, 2 kinds of Zuchhini, Summer Squash, 3 romaine lettuces, two other buttercrisp lettuces, some herbs, and more.

IMG_1486.JPG

To be DIRECT seed sown, will be 2 types of spinaches, 3 kinds of Carrot, Spaghetti Squash, Pumpkin, herbs, and more.

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

Some Outside, Some In Some Outside, Some Inside
UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Grovid 2021!!!

For those not following the past year or so, Grovid originally came from @dreemsteem.
She challenged us all, during the year's Pandemic news,
to talk less about Codiv19 and More about Grovid20!
To talk sustainability and gardening and growing for the future!

#SaveLiveEventsNow

2020... a wild and woolly year, if ever there was one. My entire industry (Special Events) was shut down on 13 March and hasn't been back yet. Personally, I am ok, but so many of my colleagues and friends are struggling with bills, paying for food and rent, medical and health insurance. I am hearing from clients, probably no work until about 4th quarter 2021.


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.



Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.





community.pngsupportbuzz.pngMinnow.pngchristmas2018.pngbirthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png


posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.pngpostallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngreplies.pngupvotes.png
98000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency