Grovid 21: Some Outside, Some Inside!

IMG_0628.JPG

Lots of Grovid 21 Progress

This is the hardest time of my planting year...after the plants have germinated, but before I can really get them planted outside. The herbs above: Oregano, Opal Basil, and Sweet Basil, are in my kitchen sink window. I have moved a few of the plants from my grow lights, to other places... but most? They're still here:

IMG_4533.JPG

On the top shelf with a Heat Mat underneath to keep the soil about 20 degrees F warmer(about 4-5 degrees warmer C), than my basement, I have some newly planted seeds, including a second planting of zucchini, some cucumber, and some San Marzano Tomato, I also have 4 Chocolate Pepper seeds, planted 2 and a half weeks ago. this is my second planting of seeds.. and something tells me, the Chocolate Pepper are not going to germinate this year. this first batch didn't, and I see little evidence, these new ones will.

I planted 4 zucchini, and 4 summer squash, about 4 weeks ago, and I have a second batch of 4 of each planted last night. I stagger the plants 4 weeks to give me a second batch of zucchini, in summer, and fall. I may do a batch later July, for harvesting late fall.

IMG_0611.JPG
Above, Zucchini and Summer Squash!

Middle Shelf left in Red Solo Cups are a few kinds of tomato:

4 each of Cherokee Purple, Roma, Cherry Sweetie, Sweetie, Black Sea Man, Black Tula, white Cherry, and Beefsteak. Next to the tomato cups, are some chives, white sweet onions, red bunching onion, and red Spanish onion. Also, in 6 Red Cups, are 3 Sweet Pepper, and 3 Sunbright Sweet Pepper.


Bottom Shelf, are 3 Sweet Banana Pepper, and 3 Purple Beauty Pepper.

IMG_7834.JPG

Yesterday, I transplanted the Peas outside, in larger Grow Bags. I am growing Golden Peas, Giant Snow and Sugar Daddy Peas. Three plants each per bag.

IMG_7453.JPG

Also outside, Above in 25 gallon Grow Bags, are Potato, just now starting to show greens. I will wait another week or so, and then hill up! Basically that comes form old farmer techniques, and what I will do, in the Grow Bags, is cover the potato greens with another 6 inches of garden soil, compost and peat. that gives the potato another 6 inches of growing area for the spuds!

IMG_1486.JPG

Above, I moved my Salad Greens! They were overseeded in 4 inch pots, so transplanted them to larger rectangles, to the Sun Room! Red Romaine, Romaine, and Buttercrunch, are the 3 types of lettuces. I may direct seed Spinach or maybe try them out here, still not sure.

What's left, you ask? 2 Spinaches, planting in about a week:another type of Cucumber, planted last night, a Spaghetti Squash I will direct sow outside, and 3 kinds of carrot also going in outside. We're moving, so I am balancing what I can grow in grow bags (for easy transport), with what I am planting this year.

IMG_0099.JPG
I also did some pruning and tying up of my Raspberry bushes.
Other Fruits, such as Blueberries, Strawberries, and Beach Plum may have to wait... depending on when we get to the new place.

Previous Grovid 21 Posts:

UpPotting Day! Uppotting Day!
Herbs and Veggies! Herbs and Veggies for Dinner
St. Patricks Day Grovid St. Patrick's Grovid21
Peppers and More Peppers, Peppers, Peppers!
Grow Baby Grow update Peppers, so far
Seed Starter Mix and Planting! Seed Starting
Indoor Lighting Station Set Up! Lighting Setup!
The Seed Packets Arrived! Starting From Seed
Here's a quick RECAP post about Last Year's Garden.


Grovid 2021!!!

For those not following the past year or so, Grovid originally came from @dreemsteem.
She challenged us all, during the year's Pandemic news,
to talk less about Codiv19 and More about Grovid20!
To talk sustainability and gardening and growing for the future!

#SaveLiveEventsNow

2020... a wild and woolly year, if ever there was one. My entire industry (Special Events) was shut down on 13 March and hasn't been back yet. Personally, I am ok, but so many of my colleagues and friends are struggling with bills, paying for food and rent, medical and health insurance. I am hearing from clients, probably no work until about 4th quarter 2021.


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.



Bluefin Studios


Bluefin Studios is a photographer, specializing in wildlife, nature, landscapes, waterfalls and Lighthouses!

Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.





community.pngsupportbuzz.pngMinnow.pngchristmas2018.pngbirthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png


posts.pngcomments.pngpayout.pngpostallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngreplies.pngupvotes.png
96000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency