What just happened to my Fiverr account? Was it hacked?

A few years ago, I was using Fiverr quite regularly to buy cheap services for this and that. It was useful, cheap, and I was happy about it. But, for a couple of years, I haven't used the service.

Today, I wanted to log in to my account in order to download some video intros that I bought years ago, but that I couldn't find anywhere. But, I was greatly surprised as I tried to log in to the service.

First, I received a message that I was logging in from a new device. As a result, they would send me a code to my email address so that I could confirm that I was the one actually logging in. That would have been nice and okay... but that is when a problem showed up. THE EMAIL ADDRESS WASN'T MINE!

what is this.jpg

So, the confirmation code was sent to a different email address and not the email address I used with Fiverr years ago. Based on this, I have no chance to reset the password nor anything, because the account is no longer connected to my email address, and even though the password hasn't changed, I am still not allowed access to the account.

Lucky for me, the account was without money, and I didn't lose much in value. But still, it raises a couple of questions!

What happened to my account?

This makes me curious! If someone else logged in to the account from a different location, they would have needed to do some sort of confirmation as well, didn't they? If that is true, then they would have needed to access my email address as well. That is kind of scary!

There are a few things that make this all sound strange. One thing is the fact that the password in use on the Fiverr website hasn't been part of any hack and it hasn't been leaked at all in connection with the username or email address in use. No matter what, it tells me that I just have to watch out, even more, be even more careful with my passwords, and maybe I should do some investigation in the case as well!?

Just wanted to share this on a sunny Wednesday morning!

Do not forget to visit https://www.ipaddressguide.org/ for more VPN-related articles, crypto-related articles, and general security articles!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency