Head-shots are Pivotal for an Actor!

image.png

I hope all is well with you out there!

I've scheduled an appointment for new audition headshots. Good headshots are so important to an actor's success and they can be costly. I suspect, on average, the cost of a good shoot by a recognized headshot photographer is going to be roughly $500 USD.

Why so important? In the industry, we often talk about what we call our 'pick'! Why 'pick'? Well, a Casting Director will look through the submitted profiles with headshots and 'pick' those they think would be appropriate for the role. So if you look the part, you may get picked. Of course, if you don't look the part at all, then your profile and headshot would not be even be submitted.

So, your headshot needs to tell us as much as possible about you. Every single fact of your appearance needs to be considered - your eyes, your hair, your expression, your best profile, a dip of your chin, shaven or unshaven, whisker-length, even what you are thinking when the photo is taken - all crucial. You think it and your audience sees it.

The wardrobe you select is vital as well. It needs to enhance the image you are presenting. You should plan 5 wardrobe changes for a headshot photoshoot. Each should appeal to a different aspect of your personality. For example, if you are athletic then you need wardrobe and a pose the shows you are.

In my case, I don't come off well as the typical doting Grandfather playing with grandchildren or having tea with Grandma. Yet my current headshots show me like a warm caring type old guy. I get callbacks, but when it comes down to the final selection I don't get the part. My physical image is not a fit.

Therefore, I'm going to darken up this time on one of my shots - be more gritty. So this time I'll start with a shaved head and facial scruff. Maybe a black and white shot might help. I need a shot that suggests I'm capable of playing the bad guy.

Then, maybe I'll shift a bit with a change of wardrobe and play coach or cop.

Then possibly a little more sophisticated and play professor or doctor.

I could also play just a pissed off old man.

And lastly, I could be just a warm, happy old guy - probably closet to the real me.

But regardless of which, I get in front of a mirror and rehearse the personalities I've chosen in the wardrobe I've selected to make sure they are not an exaggeration. I need to know I truly have the ability to be these people. Nothing extreme. Just enough to suggest. The key is subtlety.

Lastly, be present and listen to the photographer. Give him or her a chance to capture your magic.

Until next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency