Sapien Loop - Chapter 36: Who Do You Think You Are?

Cover_Hive_CaptainHive.jpg

Chapter 36: Who Do You Think You Are?


It was late morning the next day. The twins were preparing for their online tuition classes, and Pardi had finished pulling the hot chilies out of his burrito.

‘What are you girls learning about today?’ asked Pardi.

‘Acids, alkalis, and chemical reactions,’ replied Yassmay.

‘That’s interesting. We have a test subject with some nasty burns from an accident with oven cleaner. How would you like to conduct some experiments on it?’ asked Pardi.

‘That sounds like fun,’ replied Yassmay.

‘On the topic of oven cleaner, what happened to ours? I clearly remember we had a full bottle in this cupboard,’ asked Yassme.

‘I got rid of it. The oven is self-cleaning,’ replied Pardi.

‘Hmmm, sure,’ said Yassmay.

‘Anyway, you better start your class,’ said Pardi.

The girls went to their bedroom.

Pardi was about to start eating his burrito when his phone rang. It was from the Carvaress wing of the Adoy medical centre.

‘Good morning, sir. We have a bit of a situation,’ said the scientist on the end of the phone.

‘Really, I thought we tied up all the loose ends,’ replied Pardi.

‘It’s Orcille. He’s in critical condition,’ said the scientist. The scientist went on to explain Orcille’s current medical status and what they believed had happened to him.

After the call, Pardi sat on the sofa. He was full of emotion. He wanted to let that emotion pass before he contemplated his actions.

A little later, Pardi received a message from Lily. The message read, ‘Are you free to chat?’

‘Sure, no problem,’ Pardi responded.

‘Hey, just calling to check in with you,’ said Lily.

‘Do you want to discuss election strategies?’ asked Pardi.

‘Sure, but first tell me how it went with Collingswaggle,’ asked Lily.

‘It didn’t go so well. It looks like I wasn’t able to persuade him to change course,’ replied Pardi.

‘It’s not a big deal. He is going to struggle without your influence,’ said Lily.

‘There is a slight problem,’ said Pardi.

‘What’s that?’ asked Lily.

‘Jallelle isn’t going to win a position. Her popularity is tanking,’ said Pardi.

‘So you think I should just ditch my friend,’ said Lily in an angry tone.

‘Absolutely, it’s all about winning,’ replied Pardi firmly.

‘Okay, you convinced me. She’s gone,’ replied Lily. Pardi chuckled a little.

‘I got you to laugh. You sound so down today,’ said Lily.

‘I’ve known Collingswaggle for years,’ said Pardi. ‘We rarely have such unpleasant disagreements.’

‘Is that all? Nothing else bothering you?’ asked Lily.

‘Well, a few business issues. In fact, I should attend to them now,’ replied Pardi.

‘Okay, take care. Talk to you soon,’ said Lily.

After the call, Pardi left his apartment and went to the office. He picked up a company mobile phone. He called the Adoy Enforcer Department. ‘Put the Head Enforcer on the line,’ he demanded.

‘Hello, Mr. Carvaress. How can I help you?’ replied the Head Enforcer.

‘One of my employees was brutally assaulted and raped while in the custody of your department,’ accused Pardi.

‘Yeah, that’s terrible. We are investigating it,’ replied the Head Enforcer.

‘Give me the names of all the suspects,’ demanded Pardi. ‘I want them transferred to the Cellrebrum Region Rehabilitation Centre immediately.’

‘We can’t do that until they have been charged and sentenced,’ replied the Head Enforcer.

‘You will do that, or you will be back in the media for yet another embarrassing story,’ said Pardi forcefully. ‘It will be enough to completely destroy your career.’

‘Give me two minutes. I’ll call you back on another phone,’ said the Head Enforcer sheepishly.

The Head Enforcer grabbed a mobile phone. He headed out of the building and got in his vehicle. He called Pardi back. ‘We only have one suspect. His name is Arville,’ said the Head Enforcer.

‘Isn’t that the guy you just promoted?’ asked Pardi.

‘Afraid so,’ replied the Head Enforcer.

‘I want him,’ said Pardi.

‘Okay, I’ll send him to the Cellrebrum Region Rehabilitation Centre, but not as a prisoner but on an assignment,’ said the Head Enforcer. ‘There are some prisoners that have just arrived there. He will go on the premise that he is doing some follow-up work regarding their rehabilitation.’

‘Fine, I can work with that. Thanks for your cooperation. You might still have a great career ahead of you,’ said Pardi as he hung up the phone.

The Head Enforcer slumped back in his vehicle seat in relief.

The Head Enforcer returned to his office. On his way in, he asked an enforcer to tell Arville he wanted to see him.

About thirty minutes later, Arville entered the Head Enforcer’s office. ‘Hey Arville, take a seat,’ said the Head Enforcer, ‘I’ve been so impressed with the work you have done on the kidnapping case.’

‘What can I say? I love my job,’ replied Arville.

‘I know you do. Your personal commitment is unmatched,’ said the Head Enforcer.

Arville pumps his arm in enthusiasm.

‘You are going to make a great Head Enforcer,’ said the Head Enforcer.

‘It’ll be my life,’ replied Arville.

‘Before I can give my full recommendation, I need for you to demonstrate that you understand the finer points of rehabilitation,’ said the Head Enforcer. ‘After all, you will be key to making important decisions about the path the criminals take.’

‘I couldn’t agree more. I really look forward to helping Denise become a very good girl,’ said Arville with a broad grin on his face.

‘I have no doubt you would work wonders with her, but I have a more interesting challenge for you,’ said the Head Enforcer.

‘What might that be?’ asked Arville.

‘Vulay and Morgan have been transferred to the Cellrebrum Region Rehabilitation Centre,’ said the Head Enforcer. ‘I want you to go there to help out with their rehabilitation. There are always new things to learn.’

‘Ooohh, that does sound interesting,’ said Arville. ‘I still see so much potential in Vulay. I would love her to get her life back on track. I know less about Morgan, but I’m sure the good scientists of Cellrebrum will show me some good tricks.’

‘Yeah, they will. You leave on the first train tomorrow,’ said the Head Enforcer.

‘How about Denise?’ asked Arville.

‘She will be here when you get back,’ said the Head Enforcer. ‘You can demonstrate some of what you have learnt from her.’

‘Life is good. Life is truly good,’ said Arville as his smile broadened across his face.

After his conversation with the Head Enforcer, Arville visited Denise in her cell. She was still lying face-first on her mattress. She was still in shock from the events from a few hours ago.

‘Hey, beautiful. I’m back to see how you’re doing,’ he said. Denise remained silent. ‘I’ve got some good news and some bad news,’ he said as he crouched at the cell bars. Denise remained silent. ‘You’re being rude. Most would walk away. Not me. I care too much,’ he continued.

Denise pushed her face against the mattress to try to block out his voice.

‘I’m going away for a little while. Others need my compassionate touch. On the plus side, I will be back for you. I will rehabilitate you. I will save you,’ said Arville as he started chuckling.

Arville went into the cell where Orcille was held. He lied down on the other side of the bars to Denise, trying to catch a glimpse of her face. ‘What you saw earlier is nothing compared to what I will give you when I get back,’ he whispered as he blew her a kiss.

He got to his feet and then exited the cell. Arville entered the main hall. On his way to the exit, he saw Rednik. Arville grabbed his arm. ‘Look after Denise; she’s not doing so well. I want her fit and healthy for my return,’ said Arville. He then exited the building to go home to pack and prepare for his journey.

The Head Enforcer exited his office. Rednik approached him. ‘Where’s he going?’ asked Rednik.

‘The place he deserves to be,’ said the Head Enforcer.

Rednik went to check on Denise. She was struggling to breathe, and her whole body was shaking. Rednik called for help.

Medical staff entered Denise’s cell. They injected her with something to lower her heart rate. She continued to struggle to breathe. Then they used a portable respirator to help with her breathing.

‘We need to take her to the medical centre,’ said one of the medical staff members to the Head Enforcer, who was observing them.

The Head Enforcer nodded his head in response, and then he returned to his office.


Future of Social Media

Hive_Future_Social_Media.jpg

Captain Hive is here

Captain_END.jpg

Remember to catch me on Spectrumecons, click link below.

SpectrumContent.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency