Sapien Loop - Chapter 10: Darius and Denise

Cover_Hive_CaptainHive.jpg

Chapter 10: Darius and Denise


The next day, after working three hours at the clothing store, Darius went over to Morgan’s home to see Denise. He knocked on the door. Morgan’s wife, Latma, opened the door.

‘Hi, I’ve come over to chat with Denise. We have some important things to discuss,’ Darius claimed.

‘No, we don’t,’ shouted Denise, who was able to hear Darius from inside her bedroom.

‘Okay, sure, come on in. I won’t get in your way,’ said Latma with a grin on her face.

Darius entered the apartment. Darius called out to Denise, ‘I thought we could finish our conversation from yesterday.’

Denise exited her room and approached Darius. ‘Have you heard of a phone, an email, or an instant message?’ she asked Darius.

‘There are no substitutes for face-to-face conversations,’ Darius smugly retorted. ‘Besides, it’s a beautiful day. Let’s take a walk around the block,’ he added.

‘Oh joy, we could skip around the lake and pick some wild tulips,’ replied Denise sarcastically.

‘You mean, the tulips are blooming early this year,’ replied Darius smugly.

‘I mean, you are delusional,’ replied Denise. She turned to head back to her room.

‘I’m sorry,’ Darius gently called out. Denise paused. Darius continued, ‘I was arrogant and foolish, and then I was deflated. I don’t think you are shallow. I’m shallow and vain. I wanted the spotlight. I wanted to be a sports star. After the fall, that was never going to…’

Denise abruptly interrupted, ‘Stop, just stop. You need to add one more adjective to that list, and that’s “pathetic”.’

There was a brief pause. Darius sadly shook his head. He was about to leave when Denise turned around and said, ‘Okay, let’s talk. It’s a nice day.’

Darius and Denise left the apartment. They walked around the region. They chatted non-stop for an hour. Then they got in a RollerSphere and rolled a full lap around the region while continuing to chat. After that, they walked to the edge of the Agriculture Zone to see some Sapes. They laughed as they saw a really fat, short-legged Sape rip up some bushes.

Then they walked to the small lake. Together, they sat down on a wooden bench facing the lake.

‘In Year Six, I jumped into that lake,’ said Darius joyfully. ‘I grabbed a whole load of colourful pebbles and brought them back to the surface.’

‘I know you did. I was there,’ replied Denise.

‘You were,’ responded Darius in surprise.

‘You brought up mostly green and purple pebbles, the ones at the shallower end of the lake,’ said Denise with a slight smile.

‘Umm yeah, but it’s not that shallow. I think it’s quite deep all over,’ replied Darius.

‘Doesn’t matter. No one else could get deep enough to get any pebbles. You had Water Sape-like powers,’ replied Denise.

‘We spent twelve years in school together. The first time I spoke to you was in Year Ten,’ said Darius with a slight sadness in his voice.

Denise looked Darius in the eyes. ‘When we grow up, we learn and we change. We go through a natural process. Our senses draw us to what we see on the surface. You are no guiltier of that than anyone else, including myself,’ she said to him in a gentle voice. ‘Who we are now and who we will become is more important.’ She reached over and gently held his hand. They spent a quiet moment together, enjoying the lake as the sun began to set.

‘Thinking of the now, how do you feel about Orcille and his presentation?’ asked Darius.

‘I know very little about him. I know very little about what he is going to say,’ replied Denise.

‘He’s going to win many over. He’s going to break the walls down, and he is going to get Sapiens to understand that freedom trumps security and comfort,’ asserted Darius.

Denise looked at Darius while slightly biting her lip. She was about to say something and then paused. She looked at him again and said, ‘He could really make a difference. Let’s be there and support him the best we can.’

‘I’ve told my whole family to be there. They were so surprised I was so enthusiastic about a presentation at the House of Divine Knowledge,’ said Darius while pumping his arm excitedly.

‘I can only imagine,’ replied Denise.

As the day drew to a close, Darius walked Denise back to her apartment. They hugged and said goodnight.


Future of Social Media

Hive_Future_Social_Media.jpg

Captain Hive is here

Captain_END.jpg

Remember to catch me on Spectrumecons, click link below.

SpectrumContent.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency