How FB got more creepy for me

I was studying different details behind the scenes of a couple of sites and I noticed a creepy description of one Instagram post:

Photo by Ana on October 24, 2021. May be an image of 1 person, standing, tree and grass.

Then I realized that was the actual content of the photo I was looking at. The worst part is that this text was not typed by the owner of the photo (herself in this case) not even by a human, but by an AI engine.

Unfortunately that profile is private so I can show you, in order to be totally legal, a photo of myself from my own Instagram page:

image.png

If you ignore my friends making fun of me :D and focus only on description, you begin to see how things get wrong

Photo by Andrei Vlad on July 11, 2021. May be an image of 1 person, standing and outdoors.

On this one it realizes even that I am next to a somehow remarkable building

image.png

Photo by Andrei Vlad on July 10, 2021. May be an image of standing, outdoors and monument.

Indeed there are plenty of shady images on my instagram that the AI engine does not know how to interpret right now, but things are just at the beginning, with time these algorithms will become better; not to mention that what we can see being labeled on the site itself is just the tip of the iceberg. The actual cool stuff happens behind the scenes on the private network of Facebook.

So the moral of the story is be careful what information you share with others, you don't know how it's used.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency