I leased 50,000 SP for 3,165 STEEM for 6 months.

I have been leasing out my own Steempower for a while on Dlease.io and it works great.

Every day you get a payout for all your leases in your wallet and it's fully automated.

The only thing you need to be aware of is that you need to cancel a lease when the time runs out.

This is something you have to do manually.


Screenshot 2019-12-10 at 10.32.41.png

The dashboard tells me this lease will run out in 8 hours, I will then have to cancel it manually by pressing a button


The downside of canceling a lease is that you can't access your SP for the next 5 days.

The reason that it takes 5 days for you to get your STEEMPOWER back is that the person that leased your STEEM could potentially have blown his whole voting load (from 100% to 0%) before the lease ran out and it takes 5 days for this voting power to recover.

If you would get your SP back sooner, you could double vote. That's why it's 5 days.


Why I leased 50k STEEMPOWER


For a while now I have been thinking about buying more STEEM.

I believe we are still in a downtrend but I also know STEEM is nearing that territory where it can fly up.

I had some liquid STEEM in my wallet yesterday and decided to get some long leases instead of buying more STEEM.

I paid 3165 STEEM ($400) to get acces to 50k STEEMPOWER ($6250) for 6 months (Interest: 12,66%).

Time will tell whether that is a good deal or not but I think it's hard to lose STEEM here.

I'm already claiming account tokens (3 STEEM each) with the extra Steempower.

And I can use it to curate content. If I do a better job then 12,66% I can even earn a little STEEM over the next 6 months.

I also think leasing might become more popular when communities are released on Steemit.com.

If STEEM goes up from here (the sooner the better) the 50k STEEMPOWER will be even more powerful and a steal at $400. (At >20 cents SBD is printed again).

And if STEEM goes down as I expect then I can buy the STEEM back cheaper and still have access to the 50k for as long as it lasts.

I think I see it as a fairly inexpensive hedge.

A nice way to solve the indecisiveness I have been feeling towards buying more STEEM.

I will update this in a couple of months to see how it's working out.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency