What is a Garden Hermit

Ever want a simpler life? A life where your only responsibility was to exist in nature? If you answered yes then I have the job for you: living in a hut in a rich guy's yard!

Do I seriously want to live in a hut in someone's yard? No. I do, however, like the idea of living more simply and spending more time with nature. I also find the concept of the Garden Hermit fascinating (thought I wouldn't do it myself).

A few weeks ago a friend forwarded me a link to an article about Garden Hermits. Have you ever seen a garden gnome? Those figurines were inspired by actual people who were paid to live in the gardens of the wealthy. In 18th century Britain, rich landowners would pay a man to live in a hut in their gardens and dress as a wizard. Th hermit wasn't allowed to bathe or groom themselves, their only job was to walk around the gardens and recite poetry to the guests of their employers. The rich did this because it was a conversation piece and status symbol (if you can pay a man to sit in your yard full time then you must be rich, right?)

My goal, however, isn't to be living decoration for a wealthy patron. Both my job and my longest-held hobbies keep me in front of a computer screen almost all day. Despite this, I enjoy nature. I'd like more of it in my life. I made this blog to document my journey from city-dwelling, couch potato programmer to garden-dwelling philosopher (who programs).

My first step: creating that garden! My back yard is kind of a dump. I believe it is possible to turn it into a nice garden with a little hard work.

That's all for now. See you in the garden!


Originally posted on Garden Hermit. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency