Some Rituals That Get My Day Off to a Good Start - A Responce to @EcoTrain QOTW...

@EcoTrain Question of the Week - "What rituals do you have, and why are they important to you?" got me thinking...

When I wake up in the morning, how important it is to shake off the grogginess from sleep and get my energy flowing, ready to greet all the kids in the "Play and Exploration" program.

If I'm not up to meeting the kids with energy and enthusiasm, they pick up on it real quick and it makes for a not so pleasant day. I love working (or playing) with the kids, but as you can imagine there can be many challenges with having a group of sixteen 3 and 4 year olds with only 2 adults.

My Routine to get my day started and myself ready and energized -

It starts the night before - I prepare a cup of chocolate orange tea to have ready to hydrate myself first thing in the morning.
Upon waking I want to get moving - I do some stretches (combination of simple yoga poses and other stretches for my back.) Once my muscles are stretched I get my energy going with gentle sit bouncing, moving on to standing bounce on my toes then onto the rebounder for a few minutes.

Yoga Image Sun Salutation.jpg

Next, I get outside in the courtyard between the house and the meditation studio and I do some earthing (being barefoot on the bare ground) and do a modified version of "Sun Salutation", leaving out the prone positions and incorporating a more swinging action when standing upright. This really helps me feel the energies of the earth pulsating through my body.

Now my energy is flowing it's time to get myself into a peaceful and joyous (well, as close to being joyous as I can be) state with an hour of meditation ( doing Anapana and Vipassana). I usually enter my meditation looking for the strength and clarity to know my own good and the good of other, for my own welfare and the welfare of those around me.

One last thing I need to start my day is some fuel for my body. Something with ground cacao nibs in it, for an energy blast.

Chocolate Blueberry Mint Smoothie

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
2 Tbsp ground cacao nibs
a good handful of hemp hearts
a few drops of peppermint extract or use peppermint tea instead of the water
1 1/2 cups water
Honey or stevia to sweeten to taste

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and enjoy!

Chocolate Cherry Chia Porridge

3 tbsp chia seeds
a good handful of hemp hearts
ground cacao nibs
1 cup coconut milk (warmed)
1/4 cup chokecherry juice (optional)
Stevia or honey to taste

Stir all the ingredients together in a bowl and let sit for 10 to 15 minutes to let the chia seeds swell and turn to gel.

With a hug and a wave goodbye to my husband I am off for a marvelous day with the kids.

Image source: Sun Salutation

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency