Coloring Eggs for (Serbian Orthodox) Easter

Hello everyone! Today is Serbian Orthodox Good Friday and with that comes the tradition of coloring eggs for Easter which is on Sunday. Tomorrow is also International Worker's Day/Labor Day and my brother's birthday so we have a lot to celebrate this weekend.


I think I shared our traditional egg coloring every year since I started blogging so this year I don't have that many photos but I still captured a few since it's one of my favorite traditions. I did this with my mom since I was a kid and she also did it with her mom when she was a kid.

20210430_142135.jpg


The process is very simple. All you need is some grass/leaves, tights, some string, onion skin and of course eggs. This year we put the grass in the water so that it sticks better to the eggs and it's easier to manage. I usually hold the eggs with the grass on it and my mom wraps the tights around it, twist the tights a little bit and ties it with the string. Then we put onion skin at the bottom of the pot, add once batch of eggs then more onions skin and repeat until all the eggs are nicely placed. Once they are cooked, tights and grass is removed, we get these naturally colored, very pretty eggs. We used more purple onion skin this year so they turned darker but using just regular onion skin gives them much lighter color.

20210430_104121.jpg

20210430_104125.jpg

20210430_104129.jpg

20210430_111127.jpg


I really enjoy and love this tradition, especially since all the eggs are from our own chickens and the coloring process is natural plus the end result is so pretty in my opinion. To add the final touch, we just put some oil on a cloth and go over each egg with it so they get some shine. :) I am looking forward to Easter, this weekend the weather should be nice and sunny so it will make it even better. Along side Christmas, Easter is one the holidays that brings a lot of family traditions that were passed on from my parents to me and my brothers since young age, now passing on to my nieces and nephews and, if I ever have kids, they will definitely learn and participate in these traditions too.

20210430_140140.jpg


Thank you for reading! :)


banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency