Alaska Cruise on the Carnival Legend (DTube Video)

Hi Everyone,


In May 2018, I went on an amazing Alaska cruise. I travelled on the Carnival Legend with my awesome sister Gemma AKA @vegoutt-travel. The cruise lasted around seven days and it went very quickly. I have made a series of videos to share this amazing experience with my followers.

My adventure began in Seattle, Washington, USA where I arrived after a long flight from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia via Vancouver, Canada. The flight to Vancouver from Brisbane was about 14 hours. We then waited at the Vancouver airport for several hours as the initial flight to Seattle was cancelled. After about a 4-hour wait at the airport we ‘enjoyed’ a short 30-minute flight to Seattle. We spent 3 days in Seattle. It looks like a great city. There are interesting things to do there for a geeky person like myself. I will share my experience of Seattle in another post.

All Aboard

DECK.jpg

On 15 May, we boarded the Carnival Legend. The Carnival Legend made its maiden voyage in August 2002. The ship can hold up to 2,124 passengers and has a crew of 930. By today’s cruise ship standards, this not a particular large ship but it has a lot to offer. It is also more practical to have a smaller ship sail up the narrow fjords.

The journey began in Seattle, we sailed up the coast stopping at Juneau followed by Skagway before we entered Glacier Bay. On the way back we stopped at Ketchikan and Victoria, Canada. I am currently putting together footage and photographs from all these places to share in another video. The map should give you better idea of the adventure.

Map of the route taken on the cruise

MAP.jpg

Carnival Legend – What has it got to offer?

SHIP.jpg

Carnival ships have a reputation for being fun-ships. The Carnival Legend was bubbling with more fun than I have witnessed so far as a cruiser. It all begins with an amazing cruise director. The Carnival Legend cruise director of my Alaska cruise was Jen Baxter. Jen Baxter is the most energetic hard-working hands-on cruise director I have encountered over my several years of cruising. She proved to be a truly great all-round entertainer. She added an extra element of fun, which made every activity just that bit more special.

JEN.jpg

The Alaska cruise had many great ports of call such as Skagway and Juneau. In between those ports of call guests get to enjoy the amazing Carnival Legend cruise ship. The evenings and sea-days are full of activities to cater for guests of all ages.

BINGO.jpg

After a great day at a port I would normally head up to the Lido deck and help myself to their great buffet. Most guests would visit the dining room for the sit-down dinners. I normally preferred the freedom of the buffet and all the great options. After dinner, my sister and I would head to the main theatre and watch a Carnival Legend Stage Show. These shows are full of great songs and funky dances.

SHOW.jpg

After the show we would normally head over to the Comedy Club. The Comedy Club rotates 2 comedians for the first half of the cruise and then another 2 comedians for the second half of the cruise. Each comedian normally performs two unique PG acts and two unique adults-only acts. I try to watch as many shows as I can as the comedians are normally very funny.

AROUNDtheSHIP.jpg

AROUNDtheSHIP2.jpg

AROUNDtheSHIP3.jpg

On sea-days there are a variety of activities running throughout the day. These activities include contests, trivia, bingo, puppet shows, movies, live demonstrates, and special guest presentations. If you are not involved in an activity you can enjoy the various facilities available on the ship such as the gymnasium, the various swimming pools, pubs and bars, shops, games area, mini-golf course, spa and sauna or you could relax on deck and enjoy the amazing view travelling through fjords.

POOL1.jpg

POOL2.jpg

Visiting Alaska by ship is quite amazing. I would recommend the trip to anyone. The Carnival Legend is a great ship that makes this trip even more special.

I hope you enjoy the video and the post.

stretch.jpg

Post Beneficiaries

As this is a DTube video, I am unable to add beneficiaries to the post. Instead, I will manually distribute the beneficiary rewards on payout of the post. The beneficiaries of this posts based on top three upvotes of the previous post are:

In addition to these three @funbobby51 has been added as a beneficiary based on comments provided. As this is a DTube video each beneficiary will receive 15% of the post payout after curation. Thanks for your support.

To learn more about my beneficiary rewards read my 3,000 follower post using the link below.

3000THUMB.jpg

Brand2018.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Posted with @steem-plus

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency