My crazy as hell dreams that actually relate to my own life

I dream at night an awful lot. When I talk to people they for the most part tell me that they never dream and I kind of feel sorry for them because my dreams, whether they are scary or just crazy are something I look forward to when I got to sleep at night. I dream almost every night and many times the dreams have at least something to do with my real life but mostly, as you would expect, my dreams are filled with quite a lot of fantasy and magic.

Here is the dream I had last night (or at least the parts of it that I remember.)


Untitled.png
src

Side note: The above image was taken from a very interesting article about "how to control your dreams" conducted in a scientific manner in Australia and it's worth a look.


So last night I was on some sort of trip that involved being in a rented house and multiple buses traveling to I don't even know where and I was with my dog, Nadi.

Nadi is not a terribly strong individual and is a part of my life that I worry about constantly. I am an over-protective parent and a great deal of her lack of capability to socialize with other animals is almost certainly due to my lack of allowing her to get into potentially dangerous situations. I am a crazy protective parent even though I don't have any human children. She was with me on this fantasy trip and of course I was being very protective of her.

For some reason I had another animal with me as I was babysitting a young cougar or panther than belonged to my older sister - my sister IRL does NOT have an animal of this sort.


src

While this cougar was reasonably calm, it of course has the ability to be a killing machine if it wanted to be and this is basically the opposite of my real-life animal who has in her lifetime killed a small rat and a couple of geckos. They were in the same house and this dream was really stressful to me. I did not care about the cougar but was merely not abandoning it because I had, in the dream, promised my sister that I would deliver it to her at whatever destination that we were heading to. The wild cat was docile for the most part, but on occasion would become aggressive towards both me and my dog.


10413290_10204062711902847_6170397428091228679_n.jpg
Maximum killing potential

When we had to get on a bus, the cougar and Nadi were on the bus with me and of course the cougar was raising hell with all of the dogs that were on the bus - and there was a lot of dogs that were all very small that were on the bus as well.

In the end the only damage that the cougar did to anyone was to me with bites and scratches to the arms but I just though it was odd that this is something that would invade my sleep. I have never spent any time around large cats outside of a zoo but I thought I could kind of break it down into a psychological sense.

The cougar doesn't represent an actual cat, it represents my fear or my inevitable upcoming travel out of Vietnam to the other side of the planet as I will be forced to, and kind of want to, get the hell out of this Covid hell. The cougar is the hardships that we are going to face in getting to our eventual destination and just like in the dream, when I FINALLY got to the destination where my older sister was waiting, it was a massive relief to be done with the whole thing.

It was really tough getting door to door on this fantasy journey, just like I presume it is going to be when I finally do bite the bullet and make this trip happen to wherever I decide to travel to in the end. While I would say there is very little chance that there are going to be 200 lb killing-machine cats in the trip, there are going to be plenty of obstacles that are going to be extremely worrisome and especially in any situation that involves my puppy. So I think if i was to talk to a shrink they would probably say that the cougar represents my trepidation about making this trip in the first place.


src

Now that I have been awake for a while it kind of seems like the story The Life of Pi which if you haven't seen the movie I think you should do because there are a few parallels between that story, and my upcoming situation.

Have you ever had any dreams that seemed completely random at first, but then upon analyzing them, you are able to see some sort of correlation to your own life and worries?

In the meantime, even though that dream was extremely stressful, I still enjoyed it, and hope I continue to have more of them throughout the rest of my own life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency