Hyperion Update: Packaging and Index Update

Site: hyperion.zone

The changes since my last update have been mostly under the hood, having to do with package updates and posts index.

If you're unfamiliar with Hyperion, it's my manual curation web front-end. The main use-case is for grouping posts by a tag/community. It only keeps track of posts that are votable, so you don't have to deal with five years of content. Everything on Hyperion can be curated.

In fact, that's the main point of Hyperion: Managing Cognitive Load. Things you don't have to worry about on Hyperion:

  • Is it too old to vote for? No, everything is in the pre-payout window.
  • Is it a reply? No, everything is a root post.
  • Is it too new to vote for? Not if you sort by oldest.
  • Is it tagged with this one tag/community I hate? Not if you mute that tag/community.
  • Is it by this one author I hate? Not if you mute that author.
  • Is it something I already voted for it? Not if you marked it as read.

With these things sorted out, you can also mark certain tags/communities as favorites and enable "Only Favorite Tags" so that you can bring the entire list of items to read down to a managable level.

For me, that often means my daily list of unread items is closer to 200 posts, which is completely manageable.






I once worked on a friend's dad's computer. He had the hard drive divided into six partitions, C: through J:, with a 'Documents' directory tree on each one. Each new file appeared to be saved to a partition at random. I knew enough not to ask.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency