COVID-19 Monthly journal

Checking in with my monthly COVID-19 update.

What has this month been like?

A lot of Zoom meetings. It is great to be able to contect with people near and far via Zoom. I prefer video to phone for my student appointments too.

Weekly Staff meetingYoung Women's meetingTour of Kirtland, Ohio

Lots of question about ASU in the fall

In preparation for returning back to Arizona State University (ASU) all staff and students had to watch an hours long Community of Care video about what campus will be like and precautions we need to take when we return to campus.

As of right now ASU is planning on opening August 20th with ASU sync. This system allows students to go to class half the time and be online half the time or if they feel more inclined they can attend the class online the whole time.

Most employees will be going into the office on a limited schedule too.

Of course, no one knows what will happen with the virus and so we all need to be flexible and adaptable to the changes that will for sure be coming our way.

Lots of family history work
I do about an hour a day. I am making a book for the Shockley line. It is great time and drive to research my family history.


New stylish face covering

Here I am at Mayo Clinic showing my family my cute new Hello Kitty Face covering.

I decided that if I was going to be going back to ASU and needed to wear a face covering everyday I should have cute ones I like.

The pandemic has continued and there is no real end in sight. I think this month with the hardest for me mentally. I work to be able to go with the flow. We don't know what is going to happen in the future and I am feeling more isolated lately. I enjoy living alone and having time to go out when I want and be home when I want. Now that I am limited in my social interactions it is harder.

I work really hard to have meaningful connections with my friends and loved ones every day and get out of the house. That helps! Especially the morning walks.

Comparing the numbers from June to July.

Numbers as of June 19, 2020

World
Confirmed: 8.24M
Recovered:
Deaths: 445K

United States
Confirmed: 2.23M
Recovered: 698K
Deaths:120K

Arizona
Confirmed: 41,159
Recovered: 6,715
Deaths: 1,200

Numbers as of July 13, 2020
Source

World
Confirmed: 12.6M
Recovered:
Deaths:

United States
Confirmed: 3.37M
Recovered: 989K
Deaths:137K

Arizona
Confirmed: 122K
Recovered:
Deaths: 2,239


Risk Alerts

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency