Conflict and Compassion

Hello Hive friends,

So what has life been like for me here in Arizona, regarding COVID this past month?

From October 13- Nov. 13, 2020. I was again randomly selected for COVID testing at ASU, I went to the doctor's a couple of times at the Mayo Clinic, I traveled to Nashville, Tennessee to see Chihuly, the United States had elections- especially presidential, and for the first time in 8 months I really had conflict with someone surrounding wearing masks/ face covering.

COVID Testing



Me doing drive through COVID testing at ASU.

Arizona State University required all students and staff to be tested before returning to campus for the fall semester. During the semester they randomly selects students and staff to complete COVID testing. I have been selected 3 times this semester. It is a spit test which is great---painless and pretty quick.

Going to the doctor's office
There is signage all over the facility and as you can see from the sticker I am wearing you have to be screened to enter the building. Mayo Clinic is amazing and they work hard to make any visit to the doctor a pleasant experience, even during the age of COVID.

Travel
During this past month I went to Nashville to see Chihuly. For more on this awesome trip see Share Our World: Sara and Sara in Nashville, Tennessee

Here are a some pictures from the trip.

Voting
While I do not consider myself very "political". I do believe that voting is a very important right and responsibility, of which I take very seriously. This year's election was very divided and contentious and that combined with COVID and racial tensions has lead to a lot of stress for many people.



Source


Conflict
For the first time since COVID19 started in March, I had a very big conflict with someone in regards to COVID and wearing masks. I realize that people widely differently on their view or stance with mask or face cover wearing. It seems to me that one side villainizes the other side and we as a society are growing further apart. The pandemic, the contentious presidential election and racial tensions have made this last month more difficult than the previous months for me since COVID started. I hope that we can come together instead of attack each other.

Comparing the numbers

Numbers as of October 13, 2020
Source

World
Confirmed: 37.8M
Recovered: 26.3M
Deaths: 1.08M

United States
Confirmed: 7.84M
Recovered:
Deaths: 215K

Arizona
Confirmed: 226K
Recovered:
Deaths: 5,759

Numbers as of Nov. 12, 2020
Source

World
Confirmed: 53M
Recovered: 34.3M
Deaths: 1.3M

United States
Confirmed: 10.6M
Recovered:
Deaths:243K

Arizona
Confirmed: 267K
Recovered:
Deaths: 6,240


We don't know when this pandemic will end... I sure hope soon! Until then I will make the best of each day and continue to do the best I can and help those around me. It will take a lot of effort to want to understand others (especially those that think and believe so differently) and help and be kind.

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

On July 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Monthly Journal about all the zoom meetings, question about ASU in the fall, how I was doing a lot of family history work and my new stylish face coverings.

On August 24, 2020 I posted Community of Care named after ASU's campaign response to COVID19, which also includes testing for all students and staff and daily check ins, my awesome friends that I am connecting with via Marco Polo, and a family trip to Glacier National Park in Montana.

*On September 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 update--October 13, 2020 on how nice it was to do somethings outside and still having to do a lot online.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency