Maybe it's better to be naughty, not nice.

People don't want you to be disagreeable. And you don't like being disagreeable. It's a social consequence, because you know already that people don't like disagreeable folk very much. I've met many people like this. People who avoid conflict. People who tend to keep quiet and take it, rather than make things momentarily unpleasant. Only here's the thing - that's not a very good way to be, and it won't help you grow too well. If it does, it will probably make you grow all crooked, and unhealthy. So maybe you should try being disagreeable, instead. You know, put it on for size. See if you like the general idea.

Let me give you an example.

The other night, I'd arranged to go with a friend and another pal of hers to a light show, and of course, you could only get in if you'd been jabbed or tested. Normally, I wouldn't give that the time of day, but I figure our days of freedom are numbered as is, and I already had a test from the night before. So technically, I was good to go. Except I wasn't. When we got to the gate,I was told I couldn't go in with my existing, valid test, because I had to get a test there. Pay extra. Give them a bit more money. So I just said fuck this, and went home - I didn't care about the light show, anyway, and it served as a good reminder that this whole vax/tested shazam is nothing more than a good old cash-grab. If you still think it's about your safety and good health, I suggest you wake the fuck up.

image.png

Anyway, how does that relate to agreeableness? Well, both my friend and her friend, whom I'd just met, are vaccinated, so they had no trouble getting in. And immediately, when they saw what had happened, my friend told me "well, there's no point arguing with them, anyway". She thought I was going to make a scene. Her pal shot me tense looks. You crazy, crazy anti-vaxxers. Afraid that I'd cause a stir, make a scene, disrupt in some way their banal outing. And that seemed so... lame. This terror of somehow standing out. Imagine that. People looking at you. Opposing the rules. Unthinkable.

People don't like to stand out. They don't want you to be disagreeable, because it makes them afraid. Because being agreeable is the only way they've developed in order to survive.

Let's try another example.

I was talking to a friend, and she was mystified by why her boyfriend keeps walking all over her. And I told her, rather unceremoniously, that she doesn't know how to stand up for herself. She is too agreeable, because she is afraid of conflict. And that, in turn, is causing problems in her personal life. We develop this heightened sense of agreeableness when we come from trauma, usually. When we come from conflict, unstable homes, poor development environments. There, agreeableness is a way to survive.

And yet, in the outside world, agreeableness is a handicap. Good guys (and girls) always lose, unfortunately. Agreeableness tells people you are easy to mess with, and no one to take too seriously. It keeps you from going after what you want, or demanding things from those around you. Again, a recipe for disaster, or at the very least, dissatisfaction.

Disagreeable people may get the weird looks. They may get a lot more "oh, isn't he a pain". But they get things done. They achieve, and they tend to be better at demanding the respect and appreciation they deserve and crave secretly. Now, it's difficult being disagreeable. It's hard fucking work. Because most of us are brought up to strive towards agreeableness, towards being nice. So not only must we overcome the horror and rejection of our peers when we become disagreeable, but also our own aversion to it.

I don't want people staring. I don't want people thinking bad things about me. Wouldn't it be better if I just went along? Well, going along is what got the whole world in trouble back in the 1930s (and various political and geographical scheming we won't get into here). Agreeableness is what got us into the mess we are in now. It's wrecked havoc throughout history.

So maybe we should strive toward being less agreeable. Not always. I'm not saying be an asshole. But maybe being disagreeable is worth maintaining your integrity, no?

And yes, agreeableness is one of the five big traits in Jordan Peterson's teachings. I'm not obsessed, I just find a lot of value in what he has to say.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency