Vietnam and the zero Covid precautions we currently have

I was having a conversation with a Canadian friend of mine who is a very devoted "believe what the government tells you" type person and he was stating about how he wants to get out of Canada but is afraid to do so because of Covid. He was actually living here in Da Nang but left in order to take advantage of some golfing pass that he has back in Canada.... A golfing pass that he never got to use because of Covid. I hope he got his money back.

Covid 19.jpg
src

I am one of those Covid skeptics. The people who scoff at this all tend to be from a particular political persuasion and I am sure you are able to figure out exactly what that is. What country they are from isn't terribly relevant but it is most noticeable when they are from North America. When I discuss with him that I think covid is societal control more than it is an actual deadly virus he immediately starts to parrot out things that the TV told him to say and mostly I don't bother arguing with him because I know that he is too deeply entrenched to even listen to anything other than what he already "knows."

The thing I tend to say to people that are pointing fingers and talking about how "thousands of people are dying every day!" is that I live in the country next door to the virus' origin. I live in a country that at any given time had dozens of times the amount of migrant Chinese workers than the rest of the world. I live in a country that did not close its borders until weeks after the west did and I live in a country whose tourism mix is likely more than 50% comprised of Chinese people. So how is it even remotely possible that thousands of people are dying every day in North America yet the total body count in Vietnam is under 100 people over the course of the entire existence of Covaids?

https___s3apnortheast1.amazonaws.com_pshexftnikkei3937bb4_images_8_1_6_1_286516183engGB_Cropped159655822420200804 vietnam covid AP_20213371492145.jpg
src

People who are completely unfamiliar with how Vietnam handled the virus outbreak will always be the first ones to shout the loudest and make claims about how they had a vicious lockdown that would not be tolerated in the west and everyone was wearing masks and practicing social distancing.

I live here folks, I lived here long before Covid was a thing. I can assure you that none of what I stated above is, was, or will be true.

When there were some detected cases in Vietnam the country did lock down the borders and yes, there were restrictions and mask mandates and people were not allowed to travel. This much is true. The rest of the stuff you hear about Draconian lockdown measures are flat-out lies.

My Canadian friend said "they put you guys through hell for 3 weeks and that is what curbed the spread" and that is pure unadulterated bullshit. We had a 3 week period of lockdown yes, but it wasn't any more restrictive than what the people in USA and Canada are STILL facing now. My friend, who vehemently defends his government's position on Covid is actually fabricating information that he doesn't know anything about and wasn't here for.

I was here: For 3 weeks restaurants and bars were closed and you had to wear masks if you were in close proximity with others. There was never any houses being raided over Christmas because more than 6 people were there.


src

While your country is arresting people for visiting their relatives during Christmas when the people doing the arrests aren't even wearing the masks properly in a fashion that would probably get a Canadian at least a fine... the country I live in has zero restrictions of any sort. The shopping malls are open... no one is forced to wear masks in them. Our gyms are open, no one has to wear masks in them and the zumba (whatever that is) and yoga classes are packed. Stadiums that are selling as many tickets as they can are open and thousands of people are attending these events without masks or even so much as mandatory hand sanitizer.

Yet you think that your country is handling this properly?

There never was a severe lockdown in Vietnam the likes of which USA and Canada are still facing and likely will continue to face for quite some time. Go ahead and call me a conspiracy theorist if you want to, but I can look outside my window and see that you are wrong about all of this. I can walk out that door without a mask and go to a fucking disco if I want to (I don't want to.)

So if you ever hear anyone like my boot-licking, I-love-the government-and-they-can-do-no-wrong friend in Canada stating that Vietnam did it right by locking down in a massive manner... tell them to STFU because they have no idea what they are talking about. That never happened here yet here we are, running around and living our lives the same way we always have and it only took 3 weeks to accomplish it. In the meantime your countries are arresting Grandmas for making a turkey dinner for their families.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency