Momentum

I lost a lot of momentum at the end of August. Some of you know why: I was hospitalized on August 29th.

I've been out of the hospital since September 3rd, feeling much better.


IMG_4776.jpeg


What exactly happened? I had a bad case of COVID-19. Here's the timeline:

  • Late December 2019 through Early January 2020: Had a bad case of something. Nobody knew what it was but it was going around. Looking back, many of us thought it was COVID-19.
  • All of 2020-2021: I work from home, just like I had been doing since 2012.
  • August 19th, 2021: Initial symptoms.
  • August 25th, 2021: Home COVID-19 test positive.
  • August 29th, 2021: Admitted to hospital with shortness of breath.
  • September 3rd, 2021: Discharged.

Following the initial virus infection, I ended up with an opportunistic infection, brought on by a haywire autoimmune response. It's not a simple cocktail to fix something like that.

They gave me anti-virals, specifically Remdesivir, and some follow-up off-label treatment for COVID-19: Olumiant (typically used for rheumatoid arthritis).

I'm home with O2 at 2 liters. Probably do that for a week or two.

IMG_1907.jpeg


Everyone in my household had symptoms at various points in August. We all had them one-at-a-time and we all got over it on our own, except for me. I needed a bit of help, there.

I believed I had a previous infection. That may not have been the case. Or, it was, but no longer offered any protection.

I do not regret being unvaccinated. I regret that my autoimmune system went haywire as a result of a secondary infaction.

There's no guarantee a vaccine would have prevented this. You will modulate your immune system one way or another. Unlike me, hopefully, you'll find a way to do it safely.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency