Basic Salsa - Lori's Cookbook

Here is this week's entry for the @foodfightfriday challenge - well, it's already Friday everywhere except here.... (but the other post I planned to do today isn't done yet and that deadline is Friday!)

Basic Salsa!

According to the website I started from on this one, salsa can have many different kinds of ingredients according to what you like, what you have... Some of the choices include tomatoes, tomatillos, peppers of all sorts, onions, garlic, lemon/lime juice, cilantro, even corn. Feel free to experiment.

This time, I started with some tomatoes and tomatillos (which were on sale at the supermarket this week.) I chopped them in my food processor, not wanting to start with the tears when I got to the peppers.

IMGP3440.JPG

IMGP3441.JPG

I chopped up a variety of peppers, some sweet peppers, some spicy peppers. I was aiming for something with medium heat to mostly please my husband while leaving it within my reach - or tempting for the kids. (Note: I kept the seeds to increase the heat.)

IMGP3443.JPG

IMGP3444.JPG

Stirring it together with some lime juice in a plastic tub. Then, I put it in a jar. It was delicious! (Husband pigged out on it - so, top marks from him!)

IMGP3455.JPG

To make this last longer, you might add some whey or some lactofermenting liquid (1-2 T per pint is plenty). Another option is to can it in a waterbath canner for 10 minutes (which will reduce the heat some.) Mixing in some vinegar (probably that 1-2 T per pint) might also work, though I haven't tried it yet.

Here is your recipe card:

salsa_step_by_step.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency