Sapien Loop - Chapter 68: New Head Enforcer

Cover_Hive_CaptainHive.jpg

Chapter 68: New Head Enforcer


Demarcus went to bed after the results of the General Election were announced. He did not see Lily’s response until the next morning. When he woke, he looked at his phone. He was amazed to see that Lily had responded. He quickly read the message she sent, then he ran into the kitchen where Darlene was eating breakfast.

‘She responded. She responded,’ said Demarcus in joy. He flashed the message in Darlene’s face.

‘Not only did she respond, she wants to meet you,’ said Darlene as she grinned.

‘That’s unbelievable,’ said Demarcus.

‘What’s all this fuss about?’ asked Janice as she walked over to the kitchen table, carrying a plate with a piece of toast thickly covered in blue jam.

‘Demarcus is going to meet Lily in West Region,’ said Darlene.

‘That is great news,’ said Janice. ‘One problem. How are you going to get to West Region?’

‘Train,’ replied Demarcus.

‘I don’t think they sell tickets to dead Sapiens,’ said Janice.

‘I’ll have to get on the train another way,’ said Demarcus.

After breakfast, Janice went to visit Denise. She had a lot to tell her. Denise was waiting at her table in her cell. Janice sat opposite her.

‘Denise, I have so much to tell you,’ said Janice. She then explained the events of the past two weeks.

Denise was relieved to know both Demarcus and Darius were alive, but she was also shocked about what had happened to Darius. She wanted to see both of them. However, Janice told her it was not possible based on current circumstances. Denise then informed Janice that she was going to be reviewed for a possible early release. Janice was delighted at the news.

Meanwhile, Demarcus had gone to meet Polly and David in the Adoy Agriculture Zone. David led both of them to Darius. Darius was playing around with Hamlet. They were bashing a pineapple back-and-forth between them.

‘They have become best friends,’ said David.

‘That is so strange,’ said Polly.

Darius rolled Hamlet over and began frantically rubbing her belly.

‘I guess Hamlet is the easiest one for him to relate to now,’ said Demarcus.

‘They are so similar,’ said David. ‘They even like the same food and eat the same way.’

Demarcus and Polly both laughed.

‘I have some important news,’ said Demarcus. ‘I’m going to West Region to meet former Governor Lily.’

‘That sounds awesome,’ said Polly. ‘I don’t mean to be rude, but why would she want to meet you?’

‘I’m guessing because of the way she has been treated as well as my connection to those events in Adoy,’ replied Demarcus.

‘You do realise this could be a setup,’ said Polly.

‘I doubt it,’ replied Demarcus. ‘She could have easily informed the enforcers here, but she didn’t.’

‘Don’t listen to little Miss Negative,’ said David assertively. ‘Go there and get all the answers.’

Polly smiled and asked, ‘Is there anything we can do to help you with this trip?’

‘Yes, create a distraction while I sneak onto the train,’ said Demarcus.

Polly sighed. ‘I’ll do it,’ said David assertively. Hamlet and Darius were now playing a head-butting game. Hamlet knocked Darius backwards into some bushes.

Both Demarcus and Janice had returned to the apartment. Jacob was in the lounge, watching television.

‘More important news,’ said Jacob. ‘Our Head Enforcer has been promoted to Head Enforcer of the Lake Region. We will be informed tonight regarding his replacement.’

‘Yes, yes, yes, yes,’ said Demarcus.

‘Don’t get too excited yet,’ said Janice. ‘It might not be Rednik. The new representatives have mentioned their desire to bring in outsiders to be Head Enforcers.’

’Yeah, I guess,’ said Demarcus.

‘Have you figured out how to get to West yet?’ asked Janice.

‘Yeah, I have a great plan,’ said Demarcus.

‘Maybe you should get packing,’ said Janice.

‘No need, I’m travelling light,’ replied Demarcus as he headed off to his room.

Later that day, a small crowd gathered outside the Enforcer Headquarters. A podium had been set up. Representatives Ray and Dratsab approached the podium. Dratsab placed himself in front of the podium, and Ray stood a few steps further behind him.

The Bramley family was watching the announcement on their television. They were eager to see who their new Head Enforcer would be.

‘Today is a new beginning for Adoy,’ said Dratsab. ‘We have a new representative.’

Dratsab gestured towards himself with a smile. ‘We have a new vision.’

A few in the audience began to applaud.

‘Now, we have a new Head Enforcer.’ He looked to his left, smiling. ‘A familiar face but with a different heart and mind. Let me introduce your new Head Enforcer, Vulay.’

The crowd and media gasped in surprise as Vulay approached the podium. Demarcus could not believe she was back. He was also unsure whether it was good or bad. Janice was surprised but pleased. She thought this would be good for both Demarcus and Denise.

‘I understand many of you will be shocked by my appointment,’ said Vulay. ‘I let this region down. No, worse than that, I betrayed this region,’ she said with conviction. ‘Just six months later, do I deserve to be promoted?’

She could tell the audience was displeased. ‘I do not deserve to be promoted to Head Enforcer’ she said firmly. ‘However, this isn’t about what I deserve or any of the enforcers for that matter. It is about having the best Sapien for the job. I was the most talented enforcer in this department, but I was misguided. The six months I spent in the rehabilitation centre in Cellrebrum completely refocused me. I’m now 100% focused on performing my job to the highest standard possible. I promise you that Adoy will be safer and more secure than it has ever been.’

Several in the audience began to applaud. Vulay stepped back to bow. She then left the stage.

The next morning, Demarcus met David underneath the train station. David was carrying a box of fruit.

‘You are going to distract them with fruit?’ asked Demarcus.

‘Yes,’ replied David.

‘Good idea,’ said Demarcus as he slightly grimaced.

‘It is a terrible idea, but it is the only thing I could think of,’ said David.

They both began to chuckle.

‘Don’t worry, I’m insanely stealthy,’ said Demarcus. ‘I can make the most of even a bad distraction.’

‘If your stealth matches your ego, you will do fine,’ said David. Demarcus smiled.

David walked to the north end of the station, and Demarcus to the south end of the station. David got in the lift with a group of Sapiens. He exited the lift at the platform level. He walked to the turnstiles. Two guards approached him.

‘Are you lost?’ asked one of them. ‘No, I’m here to give all the wonderful station guards a present,’ replied David.

One of the guards radioed the guard’s control room. Meanwhile, Demarcus was travelling up in the lift at the other end of the station. He followed an elderly Sapien out of the lift at the platform level. He noticed she had a handkerchief poking out of her pocket. He quickly snatched it without her noticing. She scanned her phone to enter the platform through the turnstile. Demarcus pushed up close to her to get through without needing to scan his phone.

‘What are you doing?’ snapped the elderly Sapien.

‘So sorry, I noticed your handkerchief fell out of your pocket, and I wanted to reach you before I lost you in the crowds,’ said Demarcus as he presented the handkerchief to her.

‘That is so sweet of you,’ replied the elderly Sapien. ‘I’m sorry about my aggressive tone. I thought you were trying to steal a free ride.’

‘Oh, I would never dream of that,’ said Demarcus.

’I know, dear,’ she replied as she went on her way.

The guards were so busy sharing and distributing the fruit amongst themselves that they did not notice what was happening at the other end of the station. Demarcus boarded the train. The train pulled out of the station. David left the station with an empty box. He felt proud that his plan had worked.


Future of Social Media

Hive_Future_Social_Media.jpg

Captain Hive is here

Captain_END.jpg

Remember to catch me on Spectrumecons, click link below.

SpectrumContent.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency