How to blog every day even when you don't want to

image.png

I joined Steem on July 1st, 2017, I didn't do my first post until July 22nd. I've mentioned this a few times, I also mentioned how much I hate blogging and how I bad I am at it. That being said, I've managed to blog nearly every day and have created 1,333 posts. That comes out to an average of 1.1 posts/day since I joined. I feel I have managed to create halfway decent posts at 98% of the time and rarely ever shit post.

Have I said I hate blogging and I suck at it?

Ok Marky, what's your secret?

There isn't one. You just need to put in the work.

I do have a few suggestions and ideas though.

The first idea is my favorite, and it is really simple to do. I am always keeping in mind things that would make good blog posts. If an idea comes to mind, I immediately put it in my todo list app Remember the Milk under "Hive Posts". I may never get to the idea, but when I'm struggling to come up with an idea for the day, I know where to look.

I have found coming up with one good idea to write about for the day is the hardest part. Once I have an idea I like, the rest just comes naturally. I don't give it much thought, I just write as if I am talking to someone. I tend to write about a lot of different topics, this is a blessing and a curse.

It's a blessing in that it is easier to find something to write about when you are not pigeon holed into a niche. The curse is it is harder to gain followers when you are not consistently covering what interests them. I'm not here to be famous and I have no illusion I will amass millions of followers or that many people even read what I write. So I tend to write what I know or enjoy and let things go where they may.

Like I said earlier, there is no secret, it's hard work doing anything on a daily basis, much less writing. For some people it comes naturally, some of us actually have to work hard at it. You will likely not see results immediately, I know I didn't. For the longest time I felt everything I wrote went into a blackhole. I tried all sorts of things at first to see what stuck. I think the only thing that worked is I didn't quit.

On July 1st, 2017 I created my account, but I had no idea what to expect or what I was getting into. A took roughly two and a half weeks reading different posts and seeing how some people made a fortune on a daily basis, and some made almost nothing. None of it had anything to do with the quality of the posts. I decided no matter what, I would write every day for a year and see what happens. A year later I was posting every day 98% of the time, and to this day I still do.

Whenever I create a post, I try to keep a few things in mind.

  • Respect my readers time and attention, never take advantage of it by wasting it.
  • Always try to offer my read value
  • Don't sell me, no one wants to read how great you are all the time.

Always keep in mind you are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it..

If you are new here, hang in there. It isn't easy, but it's most social media is much harder. If you have been here a while, and you are just tired, I can relate. It has become a routine for me, every day I find something to write about and share. Some days it is really difficult and frustrating, and I spend more time thinking about an idea than I do writing about it. Some days, I have tons of ideas and I have to pick one to go with. Either way, a list of overflow ideas is a huge help.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency