Scribble, Scribble, and Scribble

Hello everyone! It feels sudden but it seems like my Saturday has gone by quickly. It will be ending sooner than I was expecting.

I am typing inside my room using my tablet with dim light because apparently the electric connection in our house has gone haywire. I was inside our bathroom when I noticed that the plug was sparking. I immediately ran outside outside and told my father to turn off the main switch because it might cause an unwanted scenario in our house, such as fire.

I am really not that knowledgeable as to how such thing works but I got traumatized on what happened to our neighbor's house two years ago. Their house was caught in fire when no one was around. It was said that their was a short circuit on the wirings near their roof which has led to such catastrophe. Thinking about it again has sent shivers to my spine. ​

So yeah, that's basically what happened. Hopefully the electrician would arrive early in the morning so that we would not look like our connection was cut because we were not able to pay on time.

Anyhow, my Saturday morning was as usual perfect for me. Amiel paid me a visit in our house. We had coffee and watched Big Bang. On the past few months, we were so hooked up with Korean Dramas that centers on prosecution, crime, and a lot more. Now we are back on American Sitcoms. I was able to watch most of its episodes, but there is something with this sitcom that makes me what to revisit each of its episode again.

When Amiel went to work almost 7 in the morning, I went back to sleep. When I woke up, I realize it was almost 12 in the afternoon. I overslept but that's fine because I am having the first day of my period.

I cleaned my room and our living room but apparently our living room was still a huge mess because these two guys I am living with are not cleaning their own mess. I would not be dropping their names, but to give you a clean who they are, they're my father and my brother.

I then decided to play games in the entire afternoon and waited for Amiel to pay me a visit again. You can say that I am depending my life on him, but it just so happen that we live on the same community that is why he can easily check on me.

Of course I ate, took a bath, and did those other essential stuff. I also had been very useful in the house despite the fact that I am having my period. I did the dishes which is really the least of the household chores that I want to do.

I was then reminded that I need to submit my article on our publishing in our JCI chapter. Luckily, I was in a great mood to write that I finished writing after 20 minutes while having a video call with Amiel over Facebook Messenger.

By the way, this is the rough draft that I made for our quarterly publishing. I was told to write about the situation of the teachers in regard with remote learning.

Teaching in the these Trying Times

Despite the existence of the pandemic, technology has brought people together, which for decades ago seem to have been very impossible. People who has access to internet could hang out virtually such as Zoom, Facebook Group Chats, Discord, and a lot more. Because of the said phenomena, there was indeed a spike of social media users Further, through educational technology, a virtual bubble has been created for learners across the world to share their ideas. Google forms, which was once been used only by organizations, colleges, and universities is now being used by educators as a tool for assessment. The normal pen and paper quizzes, essays, and test has now been changed to cellphones, laptops, and personal computers. The things mentioned sound so promising as we gear toward automation and efficiency, but the question that lies is that, are the tools provided to us by technology are capable in making the lives of our educators easier?

At first, everything seem to be positive, but to those educators who are not inclined to the dynamic changes in the learning-teaching environment, they are very reluctant to it. It is evident that it is not just the learners who are having a hard time with their internet connectivity but also a number of our educators. Weather changes, particularly heavy rainfall produces bad connection which would result to interrupted classes and even postponed schedules. With remote learning, it is also a concern to most educators to check the validity and authenticity of the work of their students. During assessments, some students would opt to search anwers online instead on relying on their own understanding from the previous lessons they had. As what they say, what has been happening is assessment as learning and not as assessment for learning. As an educator myself, I find these type of learning environment tedious and stressing. The new normal is testing not just the ability of an educator to cope up with the situation, but also to come up with possible actions that are beneficial to both the learners and educators.

It is important to note though that the role of an educator is not only limited to being a facilitator, but instead as a learner as well. Educators in nature would take these experiences as a learning opportunity to do better each and everyday of their lives. We, educators, also assess and evaluate these experiences so that we are able to innovate techniques that would be able to answer these concerns. In these trying times, being a good educator is not enough, we must also be willing to exceed the expectations of others to us and to ourselves.


On the other hand, our Chapter President asked me to give her an idea on what she is supposed to write. I was told that she would focus on the topic Living with Depression . I felt that somehow I could relate to this topic because for the main reason that I am still suffering from such condition.

Nowadays, the world needs more people who are empathic enough to understand the situation of others particularly on those who suffer from mental and psychological Illnesses. In some cases, depression has been regarded as a made up excuse of teenagers to adults. It has even been regarded as a once in a lifetime event or can just be ignored. There is also a stigma in our society that people who suffer from depression should just be left out because they find it futile to help someone from suffering such condition.

It is unfortunate to say that the mental and psychological health of an individual has been neglected despite the fact that psychologists has been giving emphasis on the importance of understanding and assessing ones' feelings. This perhaps has to do with how, as a society, we try to live in the old industrial age and not in the 21st Century wherein there is a great emphasis of an individual as a driving force in the growth and development in the community. You see, we are too focus on productivity that we tend to be unaware that there are forces that drive us to change into something we do not want to be, to be in a depressive state. On the other hand, people who suffer from depression are experiencing it not because of external factors but because their brains function in such manner.

For some people who are suffering from depression, they are in fact aware of their condition. They regard it as a constant reminder that everyday they are battling something and they want to succeed from it. They also bear in mind the importance of their lives, but at some point things get out of hand and some people end up forgetting their own value because they feel that they had already been dead inside.

So yeah, basically my day has been mundance but I do hope tomorrow would be a fruitful one. I wish to edit my narrative report on a training that I had undergone two weeks ago. I also need to make my Work From Home Report. Oh well, those are the things that happen during a modified quarantine and you are required to work at home.

Stay safe everyone. I love you!

-Gail


Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency