#BeerSaturday week 224 - The Emperor's New Clothes

#BeerSaturday is at week 224 and snared by some new labels


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, some new labels are jumping off the shelf at me!


image.png

Shorty of the Week!

img_2324.jpg

I like to keep a few short cans in the fridge for those moments when a full pint is just a gulp too much. Not only that, but some of the greatest beers are the 1-off, playground or seasonal beers which often come in the smaller 355 ml cans.

This week, I am throwing back to a beer I posts last week, because I bought a 6-pack and am still enjoying them. Kindness is a nice New England Pale Ale from Black Swan Brewing https://blackswanbrewing.ca/ A little kindness goes a long way. Even further when it is hoppy and delicious!


image.png

A New Old Favourite!

img_0932_1_.jpg

This is what Headstock IPA from Nickelbrook Brewing Company https://nickelbrook.com/ used to look like. It has held a special place in my top 5 beers for so long and I keep returning to purchase it when available on the local shelves.
img_2335.jpg

This is what it looks like today after a little branding make over. I must admit I like evolution and new design but was partial to the older design. Perhaps lighter colours are the direction they are going and I expect a bit of uniformity with other regularly available brands to provide them with a little more consistency in image.

img_2337.jpg

There is a secondary label for the hard of seeing which keeps it nice and plain, with a little of the popular vertical text.
img_2336.jpg

Nickelbrook is also making great use of the label real estate with a very descriptive third panel. With words like bold, loud, west coast, mosaic, wheat and that colour, you know I am enjoying the beer as much as I ever had.


image.png

New Metal Head

img_9730.jpg

Metalhead DIPA is one I have featured n the past, specifically when @sequentialvibe bought one for my birthday. This is what it looked like last winter.

image.png

It too has been reskinned and is more consistent with the new style sported by Headstock. I am entertained by the playing card with the hops as the suit. Not exactly sure why the king has thrown a sword through his head or that that has to do with being a headbanger but there you have it.


img_2333.jpg


Same bold text-based side label with the consistent vertical text.
img_2334.jpg

Same very informative third panel boasting words like bright, citrus, bold hop strength, citra AND galaxy hops! The new look hasn't screrwed with the strong solid taste I recall and I am enjoying this one just as much.


image.png

Citra Smash!

img_2339.jpg

In my travels, a new label grabbed my attention from recent favourite brewery Cowbell Brewing https://cowbellbrewing.com/ Seeing that I am already a fan of this place, and enjoy both Juicy Pale Ales and their seasonal brews, I was a strong hell yah when deciding to purchase this one.
img_2340.jpg

Citra Smash Juicy Pale Ale https://store.cowbellbrewing.com/collections/craft-beer/products/473ml-citra-smash-juicy-pale-ale-x-4 pours to properly represent all that. Upon first tasting, I was a little underwhelmed when comparing this to the excellence that is Hazy Days Hazy IPA. Citra hops are great but I love them best when combined with Galaxy and/or Mosaic hops for a fuller flavour. Upon second sampling, I must have been a little more prepared for a single hop, 5%abv beer because I enjoyed it considerably more.

When put up against Hazy Days, there is no contest in my mind.

beerologistapproved.png
Citra Smash gets my coveted seal of approval though as it stands up very well against the tastiest, lower alcohol pale ales which I particularly enjoy in the summer or after sporting events. Well done again guys!

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

224 consecutive weeks of raising a glass with @detlev and our global crew of drinkin' buddies! Talk about consistency and, most likely, a smattering of beer gut! Hit up his blog for the weekly #beersaturday post, grab a pint, and join in the fun.

This week, I am re-inviting and old friend @gooddream who is fighting his way back to normal on the other side of the world and could probably use a beer.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Any cool labels getting your attention?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency