#BeerSaturday 217 - Camping Beers!

#BeerSaturday is at week 217 and I am drinkin' beers by the campfire!


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I bring you fireside for a couple of camping brews.


image.png

Pint of the Week!


IMG_1991.jpg

This week in the out-and-about beer variety, we are gazing up in admiration at possibly the best IPA in town. Black Swan Brewing https://blackswanbrewing.ca/ was the first new school craft brewer in town and definitely the first to amazing IPA. This frosty delight is the iconic Black Swan IPA https://blackswanbrewing.ca/show/our-beer which has been on my top 10 for as long as I have had one. So great to revisit this on tap again in on of the recently opened dining rooms at https://revival.house

image.png

Taking a Hike


IMG_1923.jpg

Here we are out in the woods with a camp fire and a great brew by Little Thames Brewing https://upperthamesbrewing.ca/our-beer/ I picked it up for this camping trip because the brewery is on the way to the provincial park we were headed to. It has been a while since I last visited the brewery and this one worked well with the outdoor adventure theme.

IMG_1938.JPG

Take a Hike is the Double Dry-Hopped Pale Ale I remember and was good enough to have again at the end of the night. Good thing I bought 2 of them!

image.png

Toboggan in the Summer


IMG_1935.jpg

The delicious-looking brew has made it onto the blog once before I also chose it because the brewery is close to the camping site. I must be the only one in the beer nerd circle who has Toboggan Brewery https://www.tobogganbrewing.com/ on their radar. This one jumped off the shelf with the contrast and colour and I swore it was redesigned from when I last had it. Looking back, same old label. Same old beer?

IMG_1936.jpg

Yes indeed. Double Lunatic Fridge Double IPA was all I remembered. Relatively low ABV for a double IPA at 7% and a very reasonable IBU of 45. A bold taste for sure but pleasantly sweet for your standard west coast IPA. Damn good beer.
text16.png

Clark has Spoken


IMG_1983.jpg

As strange as it sounds, I can't recall having enjoyed a brew from Thornbury Village Craft Beer https://thornburycraft.com/ aside from a cider or two. It is not really nice of me to start with a session ale from a brewery I am discovering for the first time but Clark made me do it.


IMG_1985.jpg

You would think that, with a character like that on the front of the label, one might get some sort of explanation on the side label. No dice. Fear not as you can discover more here https://thornburycraft.com/beer/ Unfortunately, the description is just a collection of overused buzz words and no mention of the significance of the pig.

With the low 4.5% abv, I was simply holding out for something that didn't taste watery or pissy. 45 IBU is a respectable bitterness (same as the DIPA in this blog!) and this beer turns out to be rather good! I will have to grab it again to give it a fair shake and will consider it for summer day drinkin'!

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

It is week 217 for #beersaturday and @detlev has been calling cheers for that many weeks in a row. Here is your chance to add your beer story and become an official beer blogger @detlev/beersaturday-week-217

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week it is @jang who is my one and only source of space weather updates!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Revisiting any beers and breweries lately?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency