Patong Beach, Phuket, Thailand.

As I mentioned in my last post which was yesterday, I was in Phuket city for three days and while, I was there I had the opportunity not only to visit this unique and famous temple called the Wat Mai Luang Pu Supa but I also managed to go and have a dip at Patong beach which is the main beach of Phuket city. Patong beach, is on the west coast of Phuket Island and faces the Andaman Sea in the south west of Thailand, the road that runs along the beach is lined with resorts, hotels, restaurants cafes and bars, but due to this pandemic Phuket resort town looked quite sad but the beach looked very clean and inviting.

phuketbeach_39.jpg

phuketbeach_19.jpg

phuketbeach_24.jpg

phuketbeach_40.jpg

Phuket city as I have heard in the pass was always a very vibrant city, tourist would be here, all year around coming from all around the world to escape the winters but for the past year or so, it has been a ghost town everything is closed up hurting the economy severely, Phuket city relied on tourism 100%

phuketbeach_6.jpg

phuketbeach_3.jpg

phuketbeach_1.jpg

phuketbeach_4.jpg

phuketbeach_5.jpg

This once 3 km stretch of golden sandy beach was lined with colorful umbrellas and deck chairs with beach vendors pacing up and down the beach all day long with there fresh fruits and foods, you didn't have to move far to get a great meal on the beach and a massage for that if you wanted, then, there were all the activities happening on this stretch of beach like jet skies, parasailing, water-skiing, kayaking windsurfing and banana boats great fun if you were into any of these sports or you could just simply relax and enjoy the views.

phuketbeach_25.jpg

phuketbeach_18.jpg

phuketbeach_15.jpg

phuketbeach_21.jpg

To be honest as sad as it is to see this, it's giving nature some time to recover it's like mother nature saying give me break, I need some time to rejuvenate and I was actually really loving a swim in this beach the water was blue crystal clean and felt so refreshing, I can't recall the last time I swam in such a clean ocean.

phuketbeach_30.jpg

phuketbeach_31.jpg

phuketbeach_22.jpg

phuketbeach_26.jpg

I was told by my friend that down the northern end of Patong beach, there can be some great snorkeling, to be had by the rocks and normally you would see vendors there offering snorkeling equipment at a small cost, you would also see many local masseuses set up under them shady coconut and palm trees ready to give you a foot massage or pedicure but today well, I did see a couple hoping to get a customer as there are still, all the retired foreigners living in this town.

phuketbeach_23.jpg

phuketbeach_43.jpg

phuketbeach_44.jpg

phuketbeach_27.jpg

Never have I seen a tourist beach so deserted, I felt like, I was the only one on this lost island but admittedly, it was not worrying me at all, I could stay and live here very comfortably lots of coconut trees and fish in the sea is all, I need and seeing sunsets like this just makes, it more tempting. Am really happy to have seen Patong beach like this so peaceful and tranquil.

phuketbeach_41.jpg

phuketbeach_10.jpg

phuketbeach_7.jpg

phuketbeach_28.jpg

phuketbeach_9.jpg

phuketbeach_42.jpg

phuketbeach_11.jpg

tinman88_banner_1.jpg

tinman88.jpg

#beachwednesday hosted by @uwelang

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency