CONSUMPTION OF TIME

Here is one of my oldest paintings. Not many survived from that time, and I have only a few photos from my work in the Seventies.

CONSUMPTION OF TIME

consumption_of_time_by_artofthemystic-d1osm6cFILTER-WEB2200.jpg

acrylic on canvas 20" x 28" (51 x 71 cm) 1976
The "models" in this are a antique mantel clock I owned, plus my old Waltham pocket railway watch I used in my early years working for Canadian Pacific, which I bought used from a retiring conductor.

This painting was heavily damaged and is currently stored in my Canadian Studio. It may never be restored. It would probably be easier and faster to paint it all new.

Detail

consumption_of_time_by_artofthemystic-d1osm6cFILTER-detail-WEB1600.jpg

Larger image on Flickr ► 49f-small.png


PoetrySalzburgReviewCover-psr16.jpg



This work was discovered in my portfolio by the University of Salzburg, who contacted me about using it on the cover of their Autumn 2009 Poetry Review (Poetry Salzburg, Issue 16).
I all but forgotten about this piece, so I searched my original files to find a good copy of it, since the original work is badly damaged. Between the old copy, and re-photographing the damaged work, I was able to reconstruct it digitally to some degree.

Poetry Salzburg




Another early work I posted about recently: Fear of Flying


ABOUT MY WORK
"These are universal archetypes that may be found deep inside our collective subconscious. While seemingly extraterrestrial and alien, they are also strangely familiar. I take the viewer into an area that they might have been before in another existence or have entered in their dreams. It is a 'method in this madness' but everything arises by elimination of conscious guidance. The work grows seemingly by itself, like frost flowers on a windowpane. "
https://www.artofthemystic.com/about-my-work.html



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

More about myself:

Intro Post on Steemit

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency