William James Oil Portrait

james.jpg

This work was painted in oil on Arches paper. It currently resides in a private collection. William James lived from 1842-1910. He wrote prolifically on philosophy and psychology. His work was immensely influential on these fields. Below is a picture of this painting in progress.

jamesrough.jpg

The first half of today was busy. I had extra work to do for my news job and an unremarkable appointment with my therapist. The rest of the day was mellow. A friend at the coffee shop mentioned buying some Shiba Inu. This was after another friend mentioned the same thing yesterday. So I decided to swap $80 worth of The Graph for 2.9M Shiba Inu. Will it go to the moon? Probably not. But it's still fun. And the GRT I used to buy it was purely the profit from a trade I made several months ago.

Lately I've been re-watching Seinfeld as the series just arrived on Netflix. It's interesting to note how many of the show's jokes and plot points concern obsolete technologies. Phone books. Payphones. Answering machines. Cable television. Videotapes. Having been a teen in the '90s, I get all of the jokes. But someone even a little younger than me likely would not.

As the editing process of Psychic Avalanche continues, I'm getting closer and closer to finishing the next novel, number seven, provisionally titled Magic Rat and Chaos Bird. My therapist says I'm working too hard. But I don't know what else I'd do with myself if I wasn't writing.

I'm still undecided about what my next painting should be. There's a portrait I'll get to eventually, but I haven't quite got the perfect vision for it. I could paint figures forever, but nothing there is specifically inspiring in this moment either. There's an old work sitting on my easel, but I'll probably cover over this with little pink blobs and call it a day. Eventually I'll make another painting, just probably not anytime soon.


Read my novels:

Check out the comic I wrote:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency