Sketch of a Realization

head.JPG

This work was done with pencils on paper. I like the feel of it.

Today at the coffee shop I saw an old friend. It was great to see her, but the encounter left me feeling a little sad. Much of our previous friendship had been based on talking about our dreams with each other. And meds I've been taking for the last few years make it hard for me to remember my dreams.

I've looked into a pharmaceutical fix for this problem. Galantamine looks somewhat promising, but also looks like it might conflict with the other medications I take. And while I do miss dreaming, I don't miss it enough to risk unbalancing my hard-won overall health. So I'll probably just continue to be a little sad about not remembering my dreams.

Beyond casual conversation @caffetto, I've felt somewhat isolated today. But in a good way, immersed in the writing process. Maybe insulated is a better word than isolated, here. I feel insulated from the world by my creative process.

The story I'm working on is turning out to be the most complex story I've ever attempted. Some of my readers may end up complaining about this while others may end up liking it. In editing, I'll do my best to smooth things out and eliminate any unnecessary complications. But the story itself is irreducibly complex.

The more immersed in this irreducible complexity I become, the more it seems to insulate me from all the little annoyances in life that I'm naturally inclined to focus too heavily on. The more time I spend in the flow state, writing, the less I seem to care about anything else. I still get my paying work done, of course. But this and everything else is becoming increasingly effortless as the next novel progresses.

What I'd like to do is amplify this effortlessness, allowing it to grow until my whole life is flow state. Is this realistic? Probably not. Yet it seems somehow more realistic than continuing to use my valuable time engaged in struggles that maybe don't have to be struggles at all.

I also realized today that I should have been adding a footer to my Hive posts featuring links to my fiction all along. This is something I intend to correct, beginning with this post.


Novels:

Comic:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency