Marker Sketch

doorway.jpg

This work was done with pen and marker on paper.

Today wasn't great. I got my second covid shot and ended up in a Lyft that reeked of urine on my way back home from the clinic. After the first shot, I experienced some serious cognitive impairment. They say the second one's worse. I'm hoping they're wrong, because I have an important crypto event to go to tomorrow and I'd prefer not to attend it with impaired cognition.

The event itself will involve networking with hedge fund people and regulators. I might even dust off a suit for the occasion. On the other hand, it might be a holographic tracksuit and flashy sneakers situation. We'll see how I feel tomorrow.

The event's organizers have made it clear, in person and on the Telegram channel, that anarchists are entirely unwelcome. The last message I saw to this effect implied that an anarchist presence would somehow besmirch crypto's good name in the eyes of our local legislators. I can see where this person was coming from. They don't want to be associated with proponents of unregulated finance. Unfortunately for them, they invited me to their party. And my anarchist sympathies run deep.

I'm not going in planning to make a scene. But the minute I hear someone mention 'qualified investors' or similar nonsense, I'll make my perspective crystal clear. My whole agenda is to talk about how crypto can improve the lives of average people. The hedge fund crowd might not like this, but I can live without their approval.

My favorite thing about crypto is that it promises freedom from the predatory legacy economy. In my opinion, all the people currently trying to fold crypto into the predatory economy are, at best, misguided. I think crypto could use fewer of these people and more freedom-loving anarchists. And I plan to say as much tomorrow, often and loudly.

I'm not concerned about making a fool of myself by challenging the status quo. The status quo needs to be challenged, especially at insider events like this. What does concern me is the possibility of embarrassing the friend who got me involved. While this won't stop me from speaking my truth, it should help me remain polite about it.

Philosophical issues aside, it'll be great to meet more crypto people here in Minneapolis. And who knows, maybe some magic will unfold concerning @rstory. That's the thing about events like this. You never know what's going to happen until it happens.


Read my novels:

Check out the comic I wrote:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency