Emma Goldman Oil Portrait

Emma_Goldman_oil_portrait_bailey.jpg

This work was painted in oil on Arches paper. Emma Goldman lived from 1869-1940. She was an activist concerned with the rights of women and workers. Her writing informed the development of feminism and anarchist political philosophy. Below is a preliminary sketch done ahead of the painting.

goldmansketch.jpg

Today sucked. First, I woke up all excited to vote in Eden's first major election. On the website and in the Google calendar link, this election was scheduled to occur between 8am and 6pm in my time zone. This turned out to be bullshit. The election was over by 9am, so I missed it by hours.

Even though I'm good with the results of this election, the fact that it was over by 9am gives me pause. And the absence of complete information on the election page of the website was downright appalling. It's a perfect example of how the EOS community excludes people from participating in it due to poor communication. It's also problematic to schedule anything for a narrow window of time early in the morning. Had I known the election would be over by 9am, I never would have considered participating, because I sleep until afternoon.

My news job today was also lame. I kept finding error after error and it took me longer than it should have to complete my work. Coming up with good headlines this week proved impossible. Half the week's stories were about Covid and I'm totally tired of this topic.

Things didn't improve from there. The clerk at the grocery store rang me up wrong. There was no one to talk to at the coffee shop this afternoon. Etc. Etc.

Maybe tomorrow will be better.


Read my novels:

Check out the comic I wrote:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency