Pixel Art: "Eagle"

Today, I finally decided to bring out the inner artist in me, lol. I've done watercolor paintings before, some say it was good. Even though I had experience making artwork using a traditional style, I think it's not something that interests me anymore. Since I'm mostly involved in a crypto-based social media platform, I noticed that more and more people are doing pixel art style.

It may seem like a joke that in the modern digital age, there are people who prefer the archaic 8-bit color graphics. If you are familiar with the game Mario Bros, then that's the best example of pixel art.

It's not a joke! Really!

If you haven't heard about CryptoPunks then you should read this article:

Sotheby’s ‘Natively Digital’ NFT Sale Lands at $17.1 Million, With More Than Half the Total Racked Up in the Final Minutes

I'm not sure what's happening in this kind of auction for them to want to spend millions of dollars for a Jpeg with a few pixels on it. I'm just really fascinated by this story. I'm so intrigued that I wanted to try this kind of artwork and try to sell it online :D

I've been participating in Bitclout and minted some of my photographs as NFTs. I didn't sell any of my photos which is a downer but I'm hoping that I would sell pixel art. So, earlier today, I finally completed the first-pixel art that I would mint after this post.

I was inspired by the photo I search over at Pixabay, it's a photo of an eagle. Here's what I made:

eagle-lowres.png

It's supposed to be an eagle ;)

While here's the ref from Pixabay:

image.png

Unlike the fierce-looking eagle in the photo, my pixel art made it look lazy or bored :D The challenge is the limited amount of details that I can represent with a single pixel. And probably because it's my first time creating an artwork using this style.

It was a lot of fun, I'm going to make another one after this :D Cheers!


”Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.”

~ Pablo Picasso


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency