My Actifit Report Card and Update: August 31 2019

Hi Everyone,

I hope everyone is enjoying New Steem. This is my first post since Hardfork 21 and then 22. I'm back with an Actifit Report. I don't normally post consecutive Actifit Reports but I had a very active and very different day yesterday, which I like would to share with you. Before I do that, I would like to share what I have been doing on Steem.

Upcoming posts


I have been quite busy away from Steem and I haven't been able to complete any economics posts. I have started on two posts. One post about 'moral hazard' and another about 'intertemporal choice'. I am also planning to make a video about employment and technology. The intertemporal choice post will be first up. I expect it to be ready in a couple of days.

The time I have spent on Steem has been mostly related to finding new content and discovering good content creators. I have been throwing around my votes quite a bit so far. I hope to keep that up. I also want to bring back my 'Best of Steem' Facebook page to help share content I believe has potential mass appeal. There are exciting times ahead.

Giant's Causeway

Yesterday I had a very active day. I managed over 16,000 counts and most of these counts were from climbing up and down hills.

I picked up these counts from three locations in Northern Ireland.

  • Carrick-a-rede rope bridge
  • Giant's Causeway
  • The Dark Hedges

Carrick-a-rede rope bridge

First stop Carrick-a-rede rope bridge. Sadly, the rope bridge was closed but I managed to get a great view of it. The area around the bridge was open so I could get some good photographs. The strong winds forced them to close the bridge. I got plenty of exercise making my way down to the bridge and then back up to the entrance and then down again to the car park.

The bridge itself is fairly short. It leads to a tiny uninhabited island. I am still glad I saw it and it was convenient too as my next stop was the Giant's Causeway, which was only 15 minutes away by car.

Giant's Causeway

The highlight of the day was definitely Giant's Causeway. The adventure starts at the visitor's centre. The centre is very modern. It has a gift shop, cafe, and open theatre. I didn't spend much time in there as I wanted to get out and see the rock formations and the causeway.

There are two options to get down, walk or bus. I choose the walk. I took my time to take in the atmosphere and the scenery on the way down. It is not a particularly long walk. I guess about 20 minutes at a casual pace.

The rock formations are amazing. Many of the rocks are nicely cut hexagons and pentagons. This is all supposed to be naturally formed but the edges and angles on many of the rocks felt too perfect. Maybe there is more truth to the Finn McCool story. Inscribed on benches are tidbits of information about the giant.

Beyond the causeway there is still more scenery to explore. There are several trails leading up the cliffs. I got up to the edge of the cliff where I got a great view of the area and causeway. The interestingly cut rock features appeared further up on the rock face. One section looked like an organ cut in the rock. I believe it is referred to as Finn McCool's organ.

After climbing up this trail. I headed back down to the causeway. I decided to walk back up to the visitor centre rather than ride the bus. Once back at the top, I enjoyed a hot chocolate drink. I was feeling both hot and cold. Cold from the strong winds but also hot from climbing up step pathways.

The Dark Hedges

Final stop was the Dark Hedges. This is a beautiful area with amazing trees that are interwoven. This area was used for filming a few scenes from the hit TV show Game of Thrones. This was of one reasons I visited. It was convenient as it was more or less on the way back from Giant's Causeway.

Not so much waking here but I managed to get a few nice photographs. I think this area is definitely worth visiting if you are in the area. This is likely to be the case if you are visiting the Giant's Causeway.

This brings me to the end of another Actifit Report and Update. I had a lot of fun getting my counts yesterday. Staying active is a lot more fun if you enjoy the activities.



16890
Hiking, Photowalking, Walking

Other Actifit Posts


Collection_ActifitV2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency